Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Members Freshwater Tanks Showcase
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-22-2008, 02:35 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Jester1147's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Abilene, TX
Posts: 17
New Tank Setup

OK... so im new to the whole 'fishtank' business but figured i would show everyone what i have considering i dont quite know what i have.




The rest of my pics are in my photo album.
__________________

__________________
Jester1147 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2008, 02:42 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: black hills, south dakota
Posts: 2,373
Send a message via AIM to black hills tj Send a message via MSN to black hills tj Send a message via Yahoo to black hills tj
Looks like 55 gallon tank with a common pleco, some clown loaches, some gouramis, a couple bala sharks, a red tailed shark, and god knows what else.
__________________

__________________
<.^.>Mike<.^.>

https://www.bhtj.net
black hills tj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2008, 03:46 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Southern CA
Posts: 616
Biggish tank with lotsa fish and no decorations is what I see!

And that is a biiiig pleco... (to me at least)
__________________
bluerose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2008, 05:17 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Jester1147's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Abilene, TX
Posts: 17
as i said i just got the tank set up this past weekend and am new to the whole thing. Im hoping to get some more 'decoration' this weekend. Any good ideas on what would look best?
__________________
Jester1147 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2008, 05:19 PM   #5
Sliced Bread
 
neilanh's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 8,482
Is this a brand new setup and you got all those fish at once?
__________________
~Neilan
In the DC Metro Area? Check out GWAPA and WAMAS
neilanh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2008, 05:21 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Jester1147's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Abilene, TX
Posts: 17
this setup was an existing setup from a co-worker. He found out he was PCSing and decided to give me the whole thing. So yeah... all the fish came with the tank. Though, they fish were in a different tank at the time and the one he gave me was a seperate tank.
__________________
Jester1147 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2008, 05:23 PM   #7
Sliced Bread
 
neilanh's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 8,482
watch your ammonia and nitrIte closely. With that large of a bio-load, these will most likely spike high enough to kill off a lot of your fish.
__________________
~Neilan
In the DC Metro Area? Check out GWAPA and WAMAS
neilanh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2008, 05:25 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Jester1147's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Abilene, TX
Posts: 17
what kind of time frame would that take out of curiousity?
__________________
Jester1147 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2008, 05:26 PM   #9
Sliced Bread
 
neilanh's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 8,482
With that many fish, it would happen pretty quick. As their waste and excess food decomposes, it leaches ammonia into the tank.

You're new here, so I'm not sure if you're familiar with the nitrogen cycle. If not, please read the article that's linked in my signature.
__________________
~Neilan
In the DC Metro Area? Check out GWAPA and WAMAS
neilanh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2008, 05:28 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Jester1147's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Abilene, TX
Posts: 17
You are correct, i dont really know much about the whole 'nitrogen cycle' thing. i saw it and am reading it. Ive had the tank running (with fish) about a week and a half now.
__________________
Jester1147 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2008, 05:39 PM   #11
AA Team Emeritus
 
Ziggy953's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Owings Mills, Maryland
Posts: 9,101
I'm not a freshwater guy but I would think that testing your water every few days for ammonia ect would be a good idea. Also you may want to do some water changes (25% ish) to keep the numbers down.

Another option is to find homes for some of those fish. That is a LOT of fish in a 55g tank.
Ziggy953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2008, 05:40 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Southern CA
Posts: 616
Do you have a test kit? (Avoid strips and try for a full kit- less expensive in the long run.)

Might want to get testing for ammonia and nitrite daily and any time they pop over .5ppm, do a 50% water change (might also want to get a siphon or Python to make WC's much, much easier).


I agree with Ziggy on number of fish- IMHO just by looking you're way overstocked, not to take into account the aggressive possibilities of the fish... I would be prepared to lose some and also to get rid of some that aren't compatible.
__________________
bluerose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2008, 06:27 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Jester1147's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Abilene, TX
Posts: 17
first... the tank is an 80gal.... as for number of fish vs size for population I don't know. I know all the fish ere in the same tank before it got to mine.I don't have a test kit yet. I will probably hit up pPetsmart tomorrow before my shift. what kind should I get?as for water changes... what kind of frfequency and how much.. or does that all depend on ammonia levels
__________________
Jester1147 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2008, 06:45 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
thominil's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: In the middle of the corn....
Posts: 2,773
Hi,
Most people on here recommend an API Freshwater Master Test kit. I have one too. I think it was like $30 at Petsmart.
__________________
~Thom
Any questions? Feel free to PM me.
Hitchhikers on live rock? https://www.xtalworld.com/Aquarium/hitchfaq.htm
Like someone's post? Show some appreciation with the reputation button!
thominil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2008, 08:08 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Southern CA
Posts: 616
Ditto thominil... considering that individual tests are $8-10 and you'll need ammonia, nitrite, nitrate, and pH kits, it comes out to less than buying separately. I like the kit and find it easy to use.

If it will be a few days before you can get the kit I would do 25% water changes daily. Remember to treat with a good dechlorinator.
__________________
bluerose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2008, 08:41 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: black hills, south dakota
Posts: 2,373
Send a message via AIM to black hills tj Send a message via MSN to black hills tj Send a message via Yahoo to black hills tj
If you decide on the API Freshwater Master Test Kit, which I strongly suggest, check on local prices and Drs. Foster/Smith. I believe the good doctors have it for 16 dollars+a few bucks for shipping.

I second the daily water changes. Do you have a python? If not, get one. With an 80 gallon tank you will thank me later. Seachem Prime dechlorinator is the best stuff around IMO.
__________________
<.^.>Mike<.^.>

https://www.bhtj.net
black hills tj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2008, 09:12 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Jester1147's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Abilene, TX
Posts: 17
ive heard about the python and planned on getting one. We have a pet/fish store here locally, i will check to see if they offer that. As for online purchase and what not with shipping. Would it be beneficial to get a small kit locally since i am already behind the power curve or would it be safe to wait another week.
__________________
Jester1147 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2008, 09:27 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: black hills, south dakota
Posts: 2,373
Send a message via AIM to black hills tj Send a message via MSN to black hills tj Send a message via Yahoo to black hills tj
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jester1147 View Post
ive heard about the python and planned on getting one. We have a pet/fish store here locally, i will check to see if they offer that. As for online purchase and what not with shipping. Would it be beneficial to get a small kit locally since i am already behind the power curve or would it be safe to wait another week.
Keep up on water changes, and you will be fine.
__________________
<.^.>Mike<.^.>

https://www.bhtj.net
black hills tj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2008, 09:31 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Jester1147's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Abilene, TX
Posts: 17
and that would require a python... correct? and i should do that daily? or how often.
__________________
Jester1147 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2008, 09:33 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: black hills, south dakota
Posts: 2,373
Send a message via AIM to black hills tj Send a message via MSN to black hills tj Send a message via Yahoo to black hills tj
Until you get a test kit, I would do daily water changes, or at least every other day. It does not REQUIRE a python, but a python is helpful. If you can't get a hold of a python soon...get ready to haul some buckets. 25% will be fine, even though I would suggest 50%. I don't think you want to carry 8 5gallon buckets to the bathroom, and 8 more to the tank though.
__________________

__________________
<.^.>Mike<.^.>

https://www.bhtj.net
black hills tj is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
new tank setup, setup, tan, tank setup

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Whole tank setup melosu58 Members Saltwater Tanks Showcase 25 03-20-2008 04:32 PM
new tank setup crook280 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 7 12-11-2005 02:52 AM
30-40 gallon tank or hole setup wanted?Or any ref ready tank Dewey Midwest & the Dakotas 2 03-13-2005 10:12 PM
How does this tank setup look? Rsquared333 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 8 08-21-2004 11:27 PM
New Tank Setup ram6519 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 7 08-03-2004 08:37 AM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.