New Tank Setup

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Jester1147

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
OK... so im new to the whole 'fishtank' business but figured i would show everyone what i have considering i dont quite know what i have.

19075-albums274-picture1721.jpg

The rest of my pics are in my photo album.

Biggish tank with lotsa fish and no decorations is what I see!

And that is a biiiig pleco... (to me at least)

as i said i just got the tank set up this past weekend and am new to the whole thing. Im hoping to get some more 'decoration' this weekend. Any good ideas on what would look best?

this setup was an existing setup from a co-worker. He found out he was PCSing and decided to give me the whole thing. So yeah... all the fish came with the tank. Though, they fish were in a different tank at the time and the one he gave me was a seperate tank.

watch your ammonia and nitrIte closely. With that large of a bio-load, these will most likely spike high enough to kill off a lot of your fish.

With that many fish, it would happen pretty quick. As their waste and excess food decomposes, it leaches ammonia into the tank.

You're new here, so I'm not sure if you're familiar with the nitrogen cycle. If not, please read the article that's linked in my signature.

You are correct, i dont really know much about the whole 'nitrogen cycle' thing. i saw it and am reading it. Ive had the tank running (with fish) about a week and a half now.

I'm not a freshwater guy but I would think that testing your water every few days for ammonia ect would be a good idea. Also you may want to do some water changes (25% ish) to keep the numbers down.

Another option is to find homes for some of those fish. That is a LOT of fish in a 55g tank.

Do you have a test kit? (Avoid strips and try for a full kit- less expensive in the long run.)