Apple Snail Eggs!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

StyleUK

Aquarium Advice Activist
Today, I looked at my lid and saw nearly 150 eggs in two little clusters. I was amazed because I thaught both of my snails were male, but maybe I was wrong or the snail had some stored sperm from the LFS, who knows maybe it was just luck!

Anyway, i've moved my bubble stream to under the eggs, as they're quite close to the light, and I don't want them to dry out of the bubble splashes should help keep the moist so the little babies can crawl there way out.
If there is anything you think i should do to help some more please post back as i'm really very new to snail rearing.

If you want me to send you some, up to 6 snails post back with your tank information so I can see if your going to be a suitable parent for the little babies :)

I won't charge you anything except the posting and packaging costs, I live in the UK so it might cost a bit. I'll do my best though.

Thanks in advance, wish me luck!

PS. I'll leave some pictures, not very clear but enough to get you interested. Also try www.applesnail.net if you have no idea what i'm talking about or want some extra information on Apple Snails.

Attachments

• picture_078.jpg
    picture_078.jpg
    7.8 KB · Views: 179
  • picture_070_105.jpg
    picture_070_105.jpg
    7.7 KB · Views: 176
Heres some pictures of the parents.

Attachments

• picture056.jpg
    picture056.jpg
    15.2 KB · Views: 167
  • snail2_143.jpg
    snail2_143.jpg
    16.6 KB · Views: 165
Umm, I am pretty sure that top picture is a ramshorn, which are asexual. It could be the single parent ramshorn who layed all the eggs.

I think the picture is deceiving making the first snail look more narrow than it is. They both look like apple snails to me. Besides, ramshorns lay under the water.