Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Breeding
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 02-01-2012, 04:26 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie

Are my guppies about to give birth?

Hi,

This is my first post here. I'm kind of worried at the moment because I have 2 female guppies who got slightly fat and as I gone through some people's preggy guppies I thought mine were ready or about to give birth.

This is my first female guppy:

I have been owning her for 2 months, she has a large gravid spot which I'm afraid the pictures does not quite tell it due to my poor camera.

This is my second female guppy:

She has a smaller gravid spot compared to the first one but she has a quite humpy back and prefers wandering around filter and heater, which according to what I read is a sign of birth.

--

Since I do not have a breeding net right now, I have been wondering if I should move them to bowls just in case they give birth until the stores open so I can get them a breeding box or net. I know it is a torture to bowl them since it has no filter and such but I do not want to lose the frys.

My only doubt is that they won't make it till I get a breeding box or net.

(And hi AquariumAdvice. )

Cheers,
Cosmogony.

Old 02-01-2012, 05:03 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

When their stomach is square which your guppys is it is close well as it get squarer in the stomach it is closer to giving birth the last photos of guppys are huge! I would maybe move them to the bowl when the are about to give birth. Make sure you clean your tank everyday!

30G- S. and C. America tank
Fishie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2012, 02:42 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak

You have about 1 week to 2 weeks before they give birth because their stomach hasnt square off yet
Old 02-02-2012, 03:22 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict