babies

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

j.gurn

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello to everybody at AA. This is my first time posting and also my first tank. I bought a 10-gallon tank setup at Wal-Mart this weekend, set it up and ran it for about a day and a half. Two days ago I purchased two mollies (male and female) from Wal-Mart to cycle the tank. The female was fat and my wife informed me this morning that she was releasing her babies. I ended up going out ad getting a net to place them in and by the time I got back I ended up with about five live ones.

So my question is what are the chances of the little ones surviving in a new tank that has not cycled yet? I will do a 20% water changes every other day. Any other suggestions will be greatly appreciated.

Thank you
Justin

[center:a6ad900257] :smilecolros: Welcome to AA, j.gurn!! :n00b: [/center:a6ad900257]

Mollies prefer salt in the water. Add some aquarium salt and keep up with the PWC and the little ones shoudl do fine. That tank will take forever to cycle though :? Do you know anyone with an established tank?