Best Breeders for a Classroom

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

TheMurrays

Aquarium Advice Freak
I am a teacher, and am considering getting a fish tank for my classroom. I have a little experience with freshwater, as I have two tanks at home, but I am mostly a newbie. I would like to use the tank for educational purposes (referring to our "ecosystem") and therefore would like to have live plants. I would also like to breed fish, but have no experience doing so. What would be the best fish for a beginner to breed? Also, what set up would those fish need?

Thanks!

The easiest fish to breed is the guppy. Actually any livebearer would be prolific! Examples would be mollies, platies, swordtails, endlers. If I had an option on all of those to breed I'd do the Endlers (which is what I'll end up doing...) because they don't eat their young-usually-and they look amazing! If you really want to get breeding these, I'd go for a 15 gallon for the parents and older fry and a 5-10 gallon for the fry, although bigger is better!

i would suggest a 20 long with gupies(3f/1m) and lots of java moss(the most indestructable plant ever)

I would say guppies, platties or swordtails are all very easy to breed, also shrimp might be kind of cool as well. Depending on the area available in the classroom somewhere between a 20 gallon long and a 40 gallon breeder would do the trick.

I would say guppies, platties or swordtails are all very easy to breed, also shrimp might be kind of cool as well. Depending on the area available in the classroom somewhere between a 20 gallon long and a 40 gallon breeder would do the trick.