Betta breeding finally ready

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jhawk__

Aquarium Advice Addict
Ok so I have everything I need, and plan on starting putting my pair into jars and conditioning them for a week tonight with frozen bloodworms. I'm going to let them spawn in a 16 gallon container and have tons of betta cups to cup the fry if they make it :) I will be feeding infusoria for the first week :) does this all sound good?

Hi. I am a newbie but I have done a lot of research on breeding bettas. I read that you need to have the water at 5-6 inches deep and whatever tank you want to breed them in and you need to have the male in that tank. In preparation for breeding feed them live food and do water changes often on that tank. For your female you do not want her to see him and you do not want him to see her. Also, you want the breeding tank at 80-82 degrees. After about a week or so of having them in their own tanks you want them to be able to see each other so your male betta can show his colors and so he can flare at her. When you put your female in the breeding tank at first your male will chase her and such but it should not be aggressive. You want there to be some plants in there so that when they are done she can hide. Take her our immediately after they are done mating or he may kill her. Also you want a Styrofoam cup cut in half taped to the glass of your tank so that he can build his bubble nest in it.
Here is some of that advice and you can always google more. But this is what I googled. My friend has two bettas ready to breed so I did this research for about a month.
How to Breed Betta Fish: Animal Planet
Good luck! :D

OK, I've done this way too many times to count. I'll tell you how I do it.

First, I keep my males in jars all the time except to breed. Females reside in a group in a 10gal.