betta spawn

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

bettabill

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Trying to breed a pair of bettas. The female is ready, white spot, head bowing and lat line. The problem is the male won't build a nest. They been together for a week now.sunday morning I plan on releasing the female. Any suggestions would be welcome. I new to bettas. Thanks
(Sorry guppy guy. I'm new at this posting.)

Attachments

• ForumRunner_20121213_192102.jpg
    ForumRunner_20121213_192102.jpg
    61.6 KB · Views: 57
There are some good videos on YouTube regarding this and what to look for. Check them out

Trying to breed a pair of bettas. The female is ready, white spot, head bowing and lat line. The problem is the male won't build a nest. They been together for a week now.sunday morning I plan on releasing the female. Any suggestions would be welcome. I new to bettas. Thanks
(Sorry guppy guy. I'm new at this posting.)

First thing to know is that not all males will build a nest prior to spawning. Some don't build until the act of spawning while he's putting the eggs in. At this point, it's a guess that your male is old enough or in condition to spawn. (The temp might also be why he hasn't built a nest.)

I noticed the sponge filter in the tank. If it's running, it may be why the male is not building a nest. Bettas prefer very slow moving to almost still water to breed.

The following is an a-z method I use to breed Bettas. I use it for all variations of Betta splendens. You can see pics of some of my setups in my albums on my profile page. Feel free to Pm me if you have any other questions. (y)

I breed Bettas this way:
Condition the potential pair by adding higher protein foods like Bloodworms or Black Worms to their normal diet for approx. 1 week. Female should be nice and round with the first egg showing at her ovipositor.