Black Molly help

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

JMsFishies

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi! So I just started a 10 gallon tank (suuuuper beginner). I Bought some swordtails & 2 black mollies (1 male & 1 female). I've been reading up on the mollies & noticed that the female's behavior is that of a pregnant Molly thats due soon, but her belly isn't huge. She's been hiding in between leaves of one of the plants near the heater & hardly eating. The male is also by her side & shooing away any fish that cone near. Can anyone please explain. Thanks in advance!

The tank with water & plants has been up for 5 days. The fish have been in for 2. Is it possible jc
I
Z

Ooops! Is it possible that she's in the beginning of pregnancy? I've been looking up pictures & she's small compared to those pregnant ones.

I have to agree with Shetland. I'm relatively new to the hobby but I have 6 mollies in my 29 gallon tank (1 has already bred). It sounds like your tank has not properly cycled (not enough good bacteria). You should test your water for high ammonia/nitrite levels. Also you don't mention what your water source for the tank is. If it's untreated tap water it may have chlorine which is deadly to fish. I have also found that if your water quality (ph, temp, etc) is significantly different from the LFS water and you just "dump" the new fish into the tank they will experience a shock that can sometimes be fatal.

my mollies

im a major noob fish as i only recently have been allowed/interested enough to even have my own fish. and even then i didnt listen lol! :cat: