Breeding money

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Loukas42

Aquarium Advice Freak
What fish would make you the most money, yet still be easy to breed?

Just curious. I've always wondered this. Never bred anything though.

Loukas42 said:

Although I am rather new to the breeding scene, it's been my experience that you don't make much money. It depends though, if you are selling them on the Internet to people you could have a chance. Personally, I have just been able to trade in some of my fry for fish supplies at the local fish store.

Loukas42 said:

That's a tough question. It depends on your market. Plus, generally speaking, easy to breed stuff like livebearers are in less demand because, well, everyone can breed them.

Unfortunately unless you had a huge pond or single system with multiple Ideal tanks for breeding. It is nearly impossible to make a profit... Always exceptions but My wife and I breed all sorts but it's always to "help" support our addition. And it's never easy!!

Farming corals can bring a few dollars if you do it right but again not easy and some technique's are frowned upon.

Geos always seem to sell quick and breed fairly easily. The only downside is you have to have pretty big tanks for them which limits your market a bit.

I've bred and sold guppies and kribs, guppies were the easiest to breed but pretty much break even after you factor food/time/energy wasted. Kribs I could get a bit more for at the LFS but again, raising the fry to a state that they will buy them at costs money.

What are geos,not to hijack the thread but I've never heard of them??

Geophagus... they are a species of cichlid. Commonly called earth-eater cichlids. I've got 5 Geophagus tapajos (orange heads) that I'm growing out right now. The guy I got them off of sells his geos for around $10-15 per fish depending on the species/size.