catching mama fish

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

shirleyi

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I am new to breeding ,and have a female that is pregnant and trying to catch her to put her into breeding tank . She looks pretty near term. I have been trying to catch her for over a hour and she is so smart !!. She hides inbetween all the ornaments and bushes.
I bought some guppies about a week and a half ago . and noticed two to look pregnant ,I did not know when they were due though since I did not know the breeding day. I looked at some info a few days ago about due dates and what they look like . The squared off body look was starting to be soon on the one ,but I thought she would have a bit more time to have them . She must have had them overnight, as today I was checking on her and I saw one little baby hiding in the tree. I caught him or her and put it in a breeder tank so the little one would not get eaten . I feel so bad the other babies were probably eaten :(. Any way have the other one that looks pretty ready so wanted to get her out into breeding tank but I have been chasing her for 45 minutes and cannot catch her she is so fast and smart !! she hides inbetween ornaments and the trees . . I tried feeding them having her come closer but she still got away . Anyone have any tricks of the trade here . Do not want her babies eaten !!:thanks: