Giving birth right now!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Bayo

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hello,

I just realized that one of my platies is giving birth! I haven't seen her actually delivering but I already so 4 tiny fish. Can you tell from the picture is she is the one pregnant?

Thanks!

Attachments

• platy.jpg
    platy.jpg
    213.7 KB · Views: 149
  • platy fry.jpg
    platy fry.jpg
    256.8 KB · Views: 157
I can the the one pregnant defiantly because of the gravid spot. Congrats on fry!!!

Hey guys,
I'm new to this, this is the first time that I have fish fry. I know this is going to be challenge, because the aquarium is quite small for these fish (6 gal). Should I get a 2 gal tank to put the fry in that tank so the fry does not get eaten?

What do you suggest? Any advice will help me a lot! I want these babies to survive.

Cheers

Getting another nursery tank is very helpful yes or if you have allot of plants in the tank will help the fry hide as well

A 2G might be too small for fry, IMO a 10G is the best for a livebearer nursery tank

Wow the fry looks big i mean it doesn't look like newborn it looks like they have been there for maybe a week or two? if i am not mistaken, since i did have fry before and they were smaller and you could barely see them. Congrats on the fry they are so cute, but so hard to take care, mine died after 4 months :( and i don't know why, maybe i didn't give a proper care. :huh: