Harlequin Rasbora breeding? :)

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Mr.Albiman

Aquarium Advice FINatic
I have had 6 Harlequin Rasbora's for about 1 month now, and 2 of the 6 have really rounded bellies. To me it looks like they're bearing eggs but I'm no expert! ;) the other fish in the tank are in my signature the temperature is 24 degree C and the stats are ammonia 0 nitrite 0 and nitrate 10. If they do lay eggs and a male fertilizes them what do i do? I have a spare 3.5 gallon tank i could move the eggs to because i don't want them to be eaten! (That is of course assuming they are egg bound and they do lay eggs!)

Please help me! :)

I know the females are larger than the males, so I'm guessing i have 3 males 3 females and 2 of the females look egg bound. The largest most colourful one doesn't look egg bound:)

I have Harlequin Rasboras as well, and when i first got them, one of the Females laid eggs underneath the leaves of my amazon sword. However the eggs didin't list due to my rather high PH (7.4). If your PH is like that, then the Eggs will be destroyed pretty quickly.

Definitly should be good for Eggs, although i'm not sure if Harlequins eat their own children like most live bearers do. Although im sure if you dont move them the Gourami will definitely gobble them up.

The only broad leafed plant i have is java fern, so if they lay the eggs on it should i move that to the 3.5, so that noone eats them? :)

2 of my Harlequins are consistently showing breeding behaviour. (Following closely, 'shuddering' really quickly, wrapping around each other) but if they lay eggs my other fish will eat them! Shall i move the pair and my java fern to my spare 3.3 gallon??? I've just started running a second filter in my main tank to get some BB in there ready for the transfer if its needed. PLEASE HELP ME GUYS!! :D