Is my Dalmation Molly pregnant?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jess

Aquarium Advice Activist
Hello,
Not sure if im in the right topic area But i am new to Dalmation Mollies. These are the first ever purchased and I've only had them for about a week. One of my mollies are developing a belly and I am not sure if she is pregnant or not. I was told she may be too young? (she is just over an inch long) So I am not sure what else it could be? Would really appreciate the help/suggestions! I know the pictures arent the greatest I will try to get some clearer ones if needed. If she is infact pregnant any idea of when I'd expect fry? Also tips and tricks on the whole birthing process? This will be my first pregnant fish EVER!

Attachments

• molly 2.jpg
    molly 2.jpg
    130.3 KB · Views: 106
  • molly.jpg
    molly.jpg
    22.6 KB · Views: 477
Newest picture! again kinda crappy quality but looks like in a matter of 24 hours she has "Dropped"? am i seeing this correctly?

Attachments

• photo (5).jpg
    photo (5).jpg
    152.2 KB · Views: 110
I do have a seperate fry tank i just dont know if i should be moving her now or not

next question is that, is that fry tank "cycled?" if it is, put the molly into the fry tank. second do have aquatic plant in the tank so that once she is starting giving birth, the fries can hid. IMO, i think you should put the molly in the tank. also, you do not have a power filter running because you know what will happen if you do.

I put a nylon stocking over my filter in my fry tank...I also have a ac sponge over my intake valve in the tank my platy have her fry... just a thought I thought to share