Is my platy pegnant? Please help!!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Chris1987notts

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I got my platy about 2 weeks ago from the pet shop. She was this size. (pic) when I brought her. And hasn't really got much bigger. Please help. I am new to this.

Attachments

• image-1807383170.jpg
    image-1807383170.jpg
    60 KB · Views: 74
Doesn't look pregnant to me, or at least anywear close to having her fry if she is. Give it time. If there is a male and female in the tank you will see fry eventually.

Platys are pretty round fish in general. If you got her from a petstore where she was in a tank with males, then you can be pretty much be assured she is gravid. But, she does not look super close to dropping fry. It can be a hard to tell though. Keep an eye on her. Maybe in a week or so? The belly usually gets square looking before they drop fry. Instead of this profile (_) they get this profile \__/.

absolutangel04 said:
Platys are pretty round fish in general. If you got her from a petstore where she was in a tank with males, then you can be pretty much be assured she is gravid. But, she does not look super close to dropping fry. It can be a hard to tell though. Keep an eye on her. Maybe in a week or so? The belly usually gets square looking before they drop fry. Instead of this profile (_) they get this profile \__/.

Thank you very much. I will keep a close eye on her. I have a male too. So hope fully one day.

How man platys do you have and what size tank? Just curious. I love my platys. That one in the picture is very pretty. :)

I only have two platy. In a 60l community tank. With a variety of other fish.

I wasnt planning on. But I might now. But my tanks pritty full. How many fish do u think I could keep in my set up at a push?