Molly can anyone help me

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Katey

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I am kind of new to all this and I was wondering if anyone could help I had three Molly's I then found a baby Molly Not long after finding it a big Molly died I only found one baby in the tank and it was a few days maybe a bit more and I was wondering if anyone could tell me if my white Molly is pregnant as my other adult Molly wont leave her alone and should I get a breeding net so I get more Molly fry survive

image-3766045018.jpg

Attachments

• image-849412959.jpg
    image-849412959.jpg
    56.8 KB · Views: 110
  • image-2402269936.jpg
    image-2402269936.jpg
    55.9 KB · Views: 105
  • image-1228252045.jpg
    image-1228252045.jpg
    35.8 KB · Views: 110
  • image-1249763971.jpg
    image-1249763971.jpg
    62.3 KB · Views: 108
Good chance it will be pregnant! A breeding net or small separate tank will be the best method of getting the fry to survive as bigger fish will eat them / or they get stuck in filters!

Generally mine bred every 4 weeks since they first gave birth to fry!

Thank you when should I separate her

Thanks when should I separate her and how can I tell when she is about to have them the male won't leave her alone

Hi :)

She's definitely quite large. Looks similar to most of mine before birthing..
I've never used breeder nets/boxes only because I don't want to stress them out.
I either move the female when she's quite large and square to her own 10g and wait till she gives birth and then move her back to main tank ... OR ... I watch very carefully for babies and move the babies to a 10g to grow up there for 6-8 wks before moving them to a bigger grow out tank.

What size tank are they in?
How many fish/what kind?

id say preg or fat as mollies are very greedy fish and get fat easy.