Molly pregnant? Please help!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Amotar5

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello,
I have had this balloon belly Molly for about a month now and was told she was pregnant upon buying her. I have been watching her for about three weeks and nothing yet but she seems to keep growing. I recently bought a breeding box and placed her in it at the top of the tank. (20 gal fresh water) still no babies! I don't want to keep her in there if there is no reason to. Can someone let me know what I should be looking for? I attached a photo of her, does she look pregnant? I have no experience with raising babies so any advice or information would be much appreciated!

image-4274558916.jpg

Is she acting healthy? Active? Eating? I think pregnant fish get a gravid spot on their underside when they are close. They also get squared off looking. But I'm not experienced with live bearers, sorry. The white spot might be a little fungus or a booboo. If it gets bigger you may need to medicate. But with clean water, hopefully it will just go away. Good luck!

I bought mollies when I first started the hobby month out a half a year ago. They breed like crazy. I usually let Darwinism play its course so I don't get too many. If you do want to try to keep as many as possible, here are the things I look for when I think my fish is about to give birth.

The pregnant Molly will start to "square off" looking like a rectangle. You can see an image here: http://i290.photobucket.com/albums/ll251/Oldman1947/Mollies/Mom38_1024.jpg

Second, I look for the gravid spot. Near the anal fin, the skin will look black and will get larger the closer to birth. You can see an example here (same fish as before, different photo/angle): http://i290.photobucket.com/albums/ll251/Oldman1947/Mollies/Mom41_1024.jpg