More baby Platys

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

NatalieFinniss

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Evening all

I gave the tank a good clean last night and a 30% water change, trying to get my pH levels down as they are pretty high and low and behold I found I have 3 more babies than I originally knew about. They look like they're from different fish as the 2 larger ones that are orange (I knew I had one orange baby) are bigger than the two tiny black ones that were actually sitting in the sponge of the filter. Don't know who and when these little ones popped out from. None of my fish are black, so don't know if they'll change colour as they grow. It's all a bit of a learning curve as I'm pretty new to fish keeping, but they all seem to be happy despite the high pH levels.

If some of your platies have black patterning like spots, then the black one could just have more dominant genes when it comes to that pattern.

Those platies will overrun that tank fast [emoji23] I have a tank with them and haven't had to buy new fish for years even though almost all the originals are gone

I think this is going to be the case. I was careful to only buy females but of course we know that that doesn't stop them breeding!!

A male always sneaks in there somewhere [emoji23]

I saw you mention that you were worried about your PH levels. Don't be. Just keep them consistent and 95% of fish will be happy. Platties especially. They're hardy little guys! More often than not, jacking with your PH will result in way more problems that just keeping it stable with regular water changes. (y)

Evening all

I gave the tank a good clean last night and a 30% water change, trying to get my pH levels down as they are pretty high and low and behold I found I have 3 more babies than I originally knew about.