Moving new fry to nursery question

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Mommy put

Aquarium Advice Newbie
My guppy had 15 fry yesterday, and I was able to get them I to a little floating separation bid thing. I set up a nursery tank quickly last night with about 1/3 of the water from main tank and the rest is new water. This is my first time doing this with the live bearers so I am unsure of how long I should wait for nursery to cycle before I move them?? They seem to be growing so quickly already and unbeaten food is on the bottom of the little box I am worried they will get sick in there!! I love my new little fry❤?

Ok so the water is from an already cycled tank and since you shouldn't run a fry tank with a filter cuz it will suck them up i would think you can put the in now if you have an air stone if u don't have an air stone and you have to run filter elastic so sponge around it this will help keep them away from the strong pull and hopefully if they are pulled in they will be able to escape make sure there is no area where they can get sucked up lol other than that if the filter is sucking up cycled water the media will take on the good bacteria just watch the tank parameters

Ok, I actually did just move them because my angel Kept pushing in the floating tank (wants to eat!) and wound up moving one fry above water line and it was stuck and all suctioned against it out if the water, I got it down in time. I read in some places to run a filter but put a " per filter sponge" on the intake tube, I got one and it seems to be working, they look pretty relaxed in there. Glad to hear that was enough water from the main tank though, thanks! I'm going to try to attach a picture of them, but they are tiny and move a lot!

Attachments

• image-3245234871.jpg
    image-3245234871.jpg
    146.1 KB · Views: 110