My Kenyi is holding (I think). It's our first

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
Thanks WendiDell, Im going to check out that post, I just find it all so interesting... Now I want a bigger tank with mouth brooder ciclids :) cant wait to see pics..

ok checked out that post, VERY interesting!!! how big are these mouth brooders?

Rainbow, the Mama is a Kenyi Cichlid, she's on the small side at about 4" the Father Charlie is a Mbuna Red Top Zebra. Charlie is almost 6", hes pretty awesome. Here are pics. of both of them, remember I'm a crummy photographer :ermm:. The close up of Charlies face is almost his actual size, he's a little bigger than the picture.

I love them, thanks for sharing!

Are you kidding? I thank you for listening to me blathering on about my fish. It's like being a new parent and showing your new baby pictures all the time and hoping no one gets tired of hearing about it.
Nothing new to report Mama Rainbow is getting bigger and still staying under the terrace most of the time. Every now an then she'll come out for a minute or two so I can see her progress., then right back under.

...I'm afraid it's the or, fertilization occurs after she picks up the eggs...

Pete had it right in post #16 of this thread (I've witnessed mbuna spawning events multiple times) that the eggs are collected by the female after fertilization:

The pair will circle a spot in the tank (usually a flat surface or within a protected cave), the male will stop and shake which induces the female to release a few eggs. They circle again and the male stops to fertilizes them. They circle again and the female stops to collects them. The process repeats until all eggs (12-40) have been released, fertilized and collected.

The fry swim out on their own, but they hang out very close to moms mouth in case of any danger and she lets them back in to protect them.