Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Breeding
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-12-2010, 12:02 PM   #21
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
arrynyo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Dayton, Ohio (Ohio's toilet bowl lol)
Posts: 64
yeah different things work for different people. and plus you have to think about the different kinds of water in different cities. i stay in ohio and when i use my tap water i just use a water conditioner and my fish are fine. a few drops here and there and i havent had any deaths or anything. i guess im lucky or we got some decent water out here. and as a interesting side note, i have found through a experiment, that fry left in the main tank grow faster than those separated and put into their own tank. the platy fry that escaped the transfer to the baby tank are huge compared to the babies that got moved. theyre even coming out of the plants to snag food! im sure everybody knew this before me but i thought id share my observation

__________________
arrynyo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2010, 12:17 PM   #22
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
logansmomma1228's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 2,470
Send a message via Yahoo to logansmomma1228
If you're tank is only two weeks old, then I agree with taylor, it is probably cycling. Have you read any articles on cycling? With or without fish it takes a while. A lot of people do it without fish for humane purposes, but since you already have your fish if you want to keep them alive I will have to say +1 on the water changes. Cycling a tank with fish can drastically decrease their lifespan, if they make it through in the first place. Plus depending on how many were added all at once, you could have a huge bioload. Fish excrete wast which then turns into ammonia. If there aren't enough bacteria to take care of it then it will poison your fish. I didn't know anything about this stuff when I had the 55gal and I ended up killing quite a few fish because of it.
I have read through this thread before but it's been awhile so I will ask, how often do you test your parameters? What kind of test kit are you using?
__________________
~LM~ (My tanks)
When in doubt, do a water change!

If someone gives good advice, thank them with some rep points!
logansmomma1228 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2010, 12:23 AM   #23
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Midlothian, va
Posts: 14
Send a message via MSN to mbradley672
I found out how high my ammonia levels were they were
12 ppm I think is the mesurement that's used and I've done a ~80% water change every day for the past 3 days that dropped it down to 2 ppm and also got a new tank and started a new tank it's about 20-30 gallons I bought off craigslist for 25 bucks and a 50 dollar top just need to find a new filtration system as I have the ten gallon tank filter in it...

I have gotten a few new fish and used the water from the 10gallon tank and decorations to accelerate the cycle as much as possible and I put them in the new tank after about 4 hours after adding conditioner ammonia remover salt and antifungal and de-icker (local stores are having outbreaks of mouth fungus and ick as I've noticed so just plaing it safe)

The next day I noticed I had slightly foggy water and added more ammochips and the water was at about .5ppm when I put the fish in btw but the watter cleared right up the ammonia levles have jumped upto 1 but it's stable right now everyones quite happy now so after all I've learned from you guys I wish I could give you guys big hugs

EDIT: no fish died in the 12ppm levels.... Can anyone answer thy I've been told that they can adapt well but that well? Really?
__________________
mbradley672 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2010, 07:08 AM   #24
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
7Enigma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Havertown, PA
Posts: 2,913
No fish can adapt to ammonia, it is harmful in any detectable amount. My guess is you are using test strips which are inaccurate as 12ppm ammonia will kill just about anything outside of a snail very quickly. Honestly I am disappointed after reading this thread. I posted early on (post #5) and mentioned I thought your water conditions were likely poor, and it seems they are.

To compound this you have made the same mistake again by purchasing a new tank and stocking it with more fish while having an improperly-sized filter to boot. The water you transferred over contains very little bacteria, while the tank walls of the 10 gallon had a good bit of bacteria that you have now lost. The filter and decorations/gravel will house the majority but you somewhat damaged your cycle by switching tanks.

The ammo-chips and medications can only do so much. Ammo-chips can starve your bacteria so that when the chips wear out you are left with a cycle all over again. If your LFS is stocking sickly fish you should go somewhere else. There is no way I would ever support a place that cannot properly take care of their fish. At best they are incompetent, at worst they are doing it on purpose to sell medications at the time of sale. Either one is bad.

What you need to do is cut feedings to every other day, do daily large water changes to keep ammonia below 0.5ppm, and do some research on how to properly care for fish. And whatever you do, don't buy anymore fish.

HTH
__________________
Main (20g) - A throng of guppy and platy, Pressurized CO2, Ferts, All Live Plants (Very old pic, new one forthcoming)
https://i902.photobucket.com/albums/a...g?t=1266543023
7Enigma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2010, 01:23 AM   #25
AA Team Emeritus
 
taylorodw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 886
Firstly, good job! Your fish are alive, you're doing water changes a lot, and you got them a bigger tank to dilute the ammonia. Good job mbradley. You may have stalled your cycle a little, but I can tell you are trying to do the right thing.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mbradley672 View Post
no fish died in the 12ppm levels.... Can anyone answer thy I've been told that they can adapt well but that well? Really?
The previous poster had a good point - the test may have been inaccurate - but also, some fish are just tougher than others. My first tank went months without a PWC, and I didn't cycle it in any way. The fish survived, I don't really know what to say. Sometimes it's luck.
__________________
taylorodw is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
birth, platies

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
when is my molly going to give birth miiah is da bomb Freshwater & Brackish - Breeding 0 01-04-2009 10:57 PM
Did they give birth? dhawkercp Freshwater & Brackish - Breeding 2 11-30-2007 09:37 PM
Un-able to give birth mollies Freshwater & Brackish - Breeding 7 04-27-2005 05:55 PM
I think my fish is going to give birth mrgolfball Freshwater & Brackish - Breeding 2 02-07-2005 11:01 AM
When will my Platy give birth? anttna Freshwater & Brackish - Breeding 2 12-04-2003 01:06 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.