Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Breeding
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-12-2013, 02:03 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
JRcichlids's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: London - England
Posts: 119
Ram breeding question

whats the smallest size tank i can use for breeding rams ? is 12x12x15 too small for a pair ?
__________________

__________________
JRcichlids is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2013, 08:23 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Kelly5978's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Indiana
Posts: 508
I have had a hard time getting a response on here lately, so I'll give you my opinion (but I'm no expert)....if you put them in that small a tank, you have to be sure the nitrates never climb over 10 (difficult in so small a space), you have to provide some hiding spot for the female, because the male WILL harass her, and
__________________

__________________
Kelly5978 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2013, 08:24 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
JRcichlids's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: London - England
Posts: 119
ok thanks for your reply . lots of views but few replies lol .
__________________
JRcichlids is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2013, 08:30 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Kelly5978's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Indiana
Posts: 508
Sorry, stupid phone, and...watch her. I almost lost one of my females because I sectioned them off (trying to keep other fish from eating the eggs), and the male bullied the female almost to the point of death. One idea....if they lay eggs, either the remove both adults, and hatch the eggs yourself, or remove the female. A male can hatch the eggs, and is less likely to eat them IMIO
__________________
Kelly5978 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2013, 12:57 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
bshenanagins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1,583
It'd be better to have something long as opposed to high for breeding purposes. A ten gallon and up is a good choice
__________________
bshenanagins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2013, 10:01 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
JRcichlids's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: London - England
Posts: 119
sorry dont do gallons im from U.K we do litres and size of tank eg 2ft or 3ft so on . 10 gallon must be around the size of a 24x12x12 ??
__________________
JRcichlids is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2013, 02:09 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
TheCommunityCichlid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: N. Illinois
Posts: 4,203
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRcichlids View Post
sorry dont do gallons im from U.K we do litres and size of tank eg 2ft or 3ft so on . 10 gallon must be around the size of a 24x12x12 ??
37.8 liters 20x10x12
__________________
TheCommunityCichlid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2013, 02:10 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
TheCommunityCichlid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: N. Illinois
Posts: 4,203
That's the minimum size I'd reccomend without and extreme water change schedule and a few dead breeding pairs of rams to get it right. Actually Id try for 15
__________________

__________________
TheCommunityCichlid is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
breed, breeding, question, ram

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.