Rosy Red Minnows Breeding

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

superpeytonm

Aquarium Advice Freak
I've got 10 Rosy Red Minnows in my tank, and I've heard they're easy to breed. I'd love to breed them, but I'm a beginner at the breeding game. If someone could give me information on how to breed them and take care of the fry, it would be greatly appreciated. I know Rosy Reds are normally feeder fish, but I've enjoyed keeping them as pets. Thanks!

found this when I was wondering the same....

Breeding

Breeding rosy reds is extremely easy; all they require is good quality food containing lots of protein and a photoperiod of 14-16 hours of light a day. A breeding tank of 10 gallons should be setup if you are trying to breed them. The water temperature should be around 75F-80F. Any overhanging rock or decor can become a nesting site, clay pots placed on their side work great.

Each male will stake out a territory and court female rosy reds. Male fatheads will turn dark in coloration with breeding and develop a fatty tissue and breeding tubercles (do not mistake for ich). A female may spawn up to 6-7 times before being completely emptied of her eggs. After spawning, the male will guard the eggs and chase away the female. The fatty tissue on the top of his head produces a fungus eliminator, which he will rub on his eggs. Parents generally do not eat their fry or eggs unless extremely hungry.

Females will be ready to breed again in a couple weeks.

If a male is not spawning, try adding another male to add competition and he may spawn.

Egg and Fry Care