Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Breeding
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 06-14-2013, 05:51 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak

Think i have a pregnant guppy on my hands. How do i know when she has fry? (Newbie)

So I have 1 make and 2 female guppy, 1 of which I think is pregnant, I've ordered a fry net, but when do I put her I'm there? How do I know when she's going to have the fry? What do fry look like? I'm new to this so any help would be appreciated? Thanks!

Old 06-14-2013, 08:23 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Newbie

Hi im a newbie too...congrats on ur prego guppy... they say u know the guppy is ready to give birth when u see black dots or the dark gravid spot...i have a preo guppy too, but im not sure if my platy is...

Old 06-15-2013, 04:07 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak

Quote:
Originally Posted by guppy1216 View Post
Hi im a newbie too...congrats on ur prego guppy... they say u know the guppy is ready to give birth when u see black dots or the dark gravid spot...i have a preo guppy too, but im not sure if my platy is...
Thanks! Just need to know all of the basics.
Old 06-15-2013, 11:17 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak

When they are about to give birth they will be very square looking. The gravid spot will probably be dark most of the time you have the fish, except right after giving birth.
Old 06-15-2013, 11:25 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak

Quote:
Originally Posted by lovemyguppies View Post
When they are about to give birth they will be very square looking. The gravid spot will probably be dark most of the time you have the fish, except right after giving birth.
Okay, so when it gets square looking put it into the trap?
Old 06-15-2013, 11:27 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak

Quote:
Originally Posted by JacobThomson View Post

Okay, so when it gets square looking put it into the trap?