What's your most exciting breeding success?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

breezer40

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Firstly I am fairly new to fishes so I haven't got allot of experience with breeding however here goes:

I have managed to breed lots of Platys..well actually it they kinda breed themselves but its a start. My latest conquest is harlequins..they started to spawn when all the platys were giving birth .. a right frenzy took place :silly: I collected the leaves that had eggs on and but them in a breeding trap..two hatched..one survived and he is just so cute :wink:

Heh, I also am just starting. I currently have 11 angelfish fry about the size of a thumbnail (not including fins) zipping around my tank *grin*

Back when I had a mated pair of angels I went totally bonkers the first time I saw they had laid a bunch of eggs on the filter tube. I started planning out brine shrimp hatcheries, grow out tanks, etc., thinking about how much credit I was gonna get from the pet store..

Then they ate them.

Then they laid more.

And ate those too.

Eggs. Raw cuisine.

Etc., etc.

My parents like raising baby guppies. :)

I know that this sounds strange... But I once had Julidochromus Transcriptus and Brichardi cross-breed. I was only able to raise five of the offspring to adulthood. Their fry were quite striking...similar in shape to Brichardi with extended fin tips and a faint black and white checkerboard pattern on their bodies.

I think I may have a pregnant Bumblebee shrimp, and that's exciting to me, as nobody seems to have these guys. They only lay a very few eggs... I HOPE they hatch! Chances are not with the setup I have now, but I'll keep an eye on this female.

Pond snails. Oooh wee. that was exciting.

Actually they are cute little suckers... And they're not in my tank, so they remain cute.