Guppy question

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Nanster14

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I have 3 guppies in my tank, 2 yellow and 1 black. 1 yellow is 2 to 3 times the size of the others. All 3 were purchased together approx 3 months ago. I have isolated this big one because I'm wondering if she is pregnant. Her belly has "squared" off like I have seen in pics of other females close to delivery. Attached is a pic. I'd love some advice. I'm not confident she needs to be isolated. Obviously, I'm new to all this!

Attachments

• 20210505_100654.jpg
    20210505_100654.jpg
    205.6 KB · Views: 26
  • 20210505_100635.jpg
    20210505_100635.jpg
    245.8 KB · Views: 23
She does look a bit squared.

But the gravid spot doesn't seem very dark. When it is very close you might be able to see the eyes of the babies.

To prepare for a delivery, you may just let her out for now, and then at a point you'll likely see her hiding in the plants or at the top in a darker area.

If you can get some healthy looking stem plants from a store, the type which come banded together. Ask the employee which plants grow like weeds in your water /area in the aquariums.

I would gently rinse them in some old water change water, swish them around. Let them loose and float at the top of the tank for cover.

You can add in fake/ plastic aquarium stems if you have no other option. Something is better than nothing.

Do a series of pwc. How much are you doing right now - do you change water every week?

If so do 2 of these water changes, one after another - say if you do 25%, then do one 25%, then refill and another 25%. The next day do another.

You want to get the water freshened up and really clean as you may not change it very soon after the babies arrive. They are very small.

If you have a vac tool, use it to do the water changes and clean up.