Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community

Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community (https://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums/)
-   General Hardware/Equipment Discussion (https://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums/f60/)
-   -   Question about Aqauripure Nitrate Filter (https://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums/f60/question-about-aqauripure-nitrate-filter-124410.html)

bgeddes 12-19-2009 09:30 PM

Question about Aqauripure Nitrate Filter
 
Greetings! I have never had nitrate problems in the many years I have had a 75G reef tank. However I am now thinking that with a new metal halide light and older live rock, that I might have a nitrate problem that is causing green algae growth that is bad and suppression of coralline algae. Going to ask about this issue on another forum. Ordered a test kit to find out...

Has anyone used the Aquaripure to solve this problem?

mfdrookie516 12-19-2009 10:35 PM

It is best to find the source of the nitrate problem, and fix it. If you havent been testing for nitrates, you have a 50/50 chance of having low to no nitrates or having high to ridiculous nitrates. what filter and substrate do you have?

bgeddes 12-19-2009 10:52 PM

Thanks for the response. Since I asked the question I have been doing some more research. My substrate is 7+ years old and is probably crushed stuff, can't remember back that far when I first started. Just ordered 80lbs of new active aragonite sand. Have an old Penguin biofilter that seems to be working ok. Also have a SeaClone skimmer. Flow is probably not what it should be, so just ordered two Koralias # 3's.

Thoughts? Thanks again for the help.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:27 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.