Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community

Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community (https://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums/)
-   Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started (https://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums/f15/)
-   -   Cycling tank without seeding it? (https://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums/f15/cycling-tank-without-seeding-it-210217.html)

Krayzie 06-04-2012 01:43 AM

Cycling tank without seeding it?
 
I was wondering if this is possible?

paytertot 06-04-2012 01:47 AM

Definitely. Seeding just helps jump start things. You can go the fishless cycle route (recommended) or fish-in cycle. There are some great articles on here on both topics.

Krayzie 06-04-2012 01:56 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by paytertot (Post 1969076)
Definitely. Seeding just helps jump start things. You can go the fishless cycle route (recommended) or fish-in cycle. There are some great articles on here on both topics.

Yeah I have some aces ammonia, and i have some old decor from betta tanks, and an filter from a betta tank in too, but i did weekly 100% changes on those.

paytertot 06-04-2012 01:58 AM

Well the filter will only have the beneficial bacteria in it still if the media was kept wet. Have you added any ammonia yet?

Stephen Rollins 06-09-2012 10:06 AM

Use this calculator to know how much ammonia to add

https://www.fishforums.net/aquarium-calculator.htm


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:06 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.