Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community

Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community (https://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums/)
-   Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion (https://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums/f12/)
-   -   Rimless Tank (https://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums/f12/rimless-tank-280696.html)

fishrex 10-02-2013 05:23 PM

Rimless Tank
 
What is the maximum capacity for a rimless tank?, do you know a good place to buy large rimless tanks?

Fishfur 10-02-2013 07:21 PM

I would think the maximum fill level would depend a bit on filtration. If the filter is strong and creates a lot of surface agitation, you would need to leave a bit more space than if it's quiet on the surface.

I did once fill a tank WITH a rim 'till it was over the edge on the inside of the rim. But it wicked up between the acrylic gadget I use to hold the lights up and the glass. So it dripped outside. Now I fill to just below that edge on the inside.

I'd think an inch of space is plenty, half an inch might be fine too, provided the tank is level and nothing you put on the rim can wick water up. If it can you'll find out quickly, the dripping can make quite a mess in a short time :-).

Rivercats 10-02-2013 07:27 PM

Most you can fill to around an inch from the top. We have a Nuvo 24g rimless that has a built in back of the tank sump type filter with an overflow so in that instance you fill to the level it takes to run the sump filter correctly which in our case is slightly less than an inch from the top.

TheCommunityCichlid 10-02-2013 07:29 PM

I fill mine to about 1/2" below the edge. If you're talking about overall size it depends on how strong and thick the material is. It can not bow at all. So the bigger you go the thicker the glass or acrylic needs to be.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:15 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.