Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community

Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community (https://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums/)
-   General Hardware/Equipment Discussion (https://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums/f60/)
-   -   Filtration (https://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums/f60/filtration-338388.html)

tmartin722 07-13-2015 03:21 AM

Filtration
 
I'm thinking about making a coffee table aquarium out of a 55 gallon. I'm wanting to keep as simple as possible. It will be lightly stocked with only a pair of clowns and inverts. Would just live rock and sand be enough filtration? Trying to keep from having cords running from it.

Sent from my SM-N910V using Aquarium Advice mobile app

Reefing Madness 07-13-2015 10:23 AM

That filtration would be enough. But the gas exchange would be poor, probably end up with PH issues.

Mebbid 07-13-2015 11:17 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Reefing Madness (Post 3248784)
That filtration would be enough. But the gas exchange would be poor, probably end up with PH issues.

I'm going to agree. A coffee table tank really has to be a custom job. There's not really going to be any way to get around cords running from it, you're going to need heating and plenty of water movement.

It would be best to make a custom tank that's much shorter (probably no more than 1" tall) raise it off the ground with a base, and put a sump in the base to account for proper water movement.

tmartin722 07-13-2015 05:05 PM

Ok thanks. I had a feeling the gas exchange would be a problem.

Sent from my SM-N910V using Aquarium Advice mobile app


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:01 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.