Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community

Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community (https://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums/)
-   Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish (https://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums/f17/)
-   -   Ammonia problem?? Please help (https://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums/f17/ammonia-problem-please-help-376963.html)

FoolsGold 05-08-2021 03:11 PM

Ammonia problem?? Please help
 
Hi,

I have a 20 gallon thatís currently having a huge ammonia problem, the levels are off the charts (Iím using API Ammo Lock to the ty and keep my fish from dying) and I need to move some fish out. The ammonia levels are measuring at 4ppm. Iím using the API Freshwater master test kit. I did a 50% water change last night and right after and this morning the ammonia was measuring the same as before the change. Iím going to be doing 20-25% water changes every day for the next week.

Another thing is that I changed the substrate of the tank last week, from gravel to to sand. It wasnít live sand, but it seemed to be fine and I added API quick start to replace the lost bacteria.

The fish inside are 4 Dalmatian Mollies, 6 Kuhli Loaches, and 3 neon tetras. Thereís no live plants. There was a snail in there too, but last night they died.

I have a small 5 gallon that has never had any fish and has been cycling for at least 2 weeks now, but when I went to test the water to see if I could move the tetras into it to relieve some stress from the 20 gallon the water measured at 1-2ppm of ammonia!? Thereís no reason for there to be ammonia in that tank that I can think of. I donít know what to do to fix this. None of the factors that could be affecting the 20 gallon should be affecting the 5 gallon.

I tested the tap water from the sink I use to for aquarium water and it didnít have any ammonia in it, so Iím not sure where itís coming from.

Please give any advice you can

Mother of fish 05-08-2021 08:24 PM

I am unfamiliar with your issue, this forum is pretty dead, I would recommend joining fishlor. You will get help with in a couple minutes of posting :)

Caliban07 05-09-2021 05:17 PM

Can someone please just remove Mother of fish from the forum already.

Mother of fish 05-09-2021 06:04 PM

Wow. If you can't help, don't reply. Dont be a jerk. :)

Mother of fish 05-09-2021 06:22 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by FoolsGold (Post 3562552)
Hi,

I have a 20 gallon thatís currently having a huge ammonia problem, the levels are off the charts (Iím using API Ammo Lock to the ty and keep my fish from dying) and I need to move some fish out. The ammonia levels are measuring at 4ppm. Iím using the API Freshwater master test kit. I did a 50% water change last night and right after and this morning the ammonia was measuring the same as before the change. Iím going to be doing 20-25% water changes every day for the next week.

Another thing is that I changed the substrate of the tank last week, from gravel to to sand. It wasnít live sand, but it seemed to be fine and I added API quick start to replace the lost bacteria.

The fish inside are 4 Dalmatian Mollies, 6 Kuhli Loaches, and 3 neon tetras. Thereís no live plants. There was a snail in there too, but last night they died.

I have a small 5 gallon that has never had any fish and has been cycling for at least 2 weeks now, but when I went to test the water to see if I could move the tetras into it to relieve some stress from the 20 gallon the water measured at 1-2ppm of ammonia!? Thereís no reason for there to be ammonia in that tank that I can think of. I donít know what to do to fix this. None of the factors that could be affecting the 20 gallon should be affecting the 5 gallon.

I tested the tap water from the sink I use to for aquarium water and it didnít have any ammonia in it, so Iím not sure where itís coming from.

Please give any advice you can

I would do 40% changes daily and keep adding quick start. Keep me updated. :)

Caliban07 05-10-2021 06:49 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mother of fish (Post 3562603)
Wow. If you can't help, don't reply. Dont be a jerk. :)


I pay an annual fee to support this forum and you are advising people to go elsewhere in a number of posts now. If you want to be a part of this community keep advice within the community.

Ulrichsd 05-10-2021 06:56 AM

I suspect that switching the substrate released the ammonia - sand can get really dirty. I would do a 50% water change and see if that cuts the ammonia down.

Mother of fish 05-10-2021 08:27 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ulrichsd (Post 3562623)
I suspect that switching the substrate repressed the ammonia - sand can get really dirty. I would do a 50% water change and see if that cuts the ammonia down.

I agree


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:27 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.