flowerhorn ??????

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Dreamingdragon

Aquarium Advice Freak
high there this fish i have picked up at my lfs as a jack dempsey well i have jack dempsey and i know for sure its not a jd. i came across a flowerhorn what do you guys think

flowerhorn

sorry did not want to load pic

Attachments

• DSCN0960.JPG
    DSCN0960.JPG
    127.8 KB · Views: 121
I don't think its a flower horn. There is no spot up on the head. could it be a JD x managuense hybrid. IT has the spangles of a JD but the spotting down the side is like a managuense cichlid.

Body shape and red along the dorsal says JD. It might just be a really nice colored JD. Its a really cool looking juvie regardless.

I am no expert on carpintis but I thought they have like 2 or 3 black spots not spots all they way down the sides. Plus body shape is different not as deep as the carpintis.

I am no expert on carpintis but I thought they have like 2 or 3 black spots not spots all they way down the sides. Plus body shape is different not as deep as the carpintis.

Hmmm yea I think your right. I was I'm on my phone so not a good view of the picture. May be a carpintis x fh.

I wouldn't a flower horn, because they have the big buldge at the top of there head.
I would suggest it's a carpintis. :fish2:

I wouldn't a flower horn, because they have the big buldge at the top of there head.
I would suggest it's a carpintis. :fish2:

Flower horns only get the bulge as adults. But also doesn't have the markings of a flower horn juvies.

Curious what makes you think carpintis. I don't think it is but wonder what you guys see?

Hmmm yea I think your right. I was I'm on my phone so not a good view of the picture. May be a carpintis x fh.