Conflicting advice on stocking an Oscar tank...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

KRGilley23

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I am new to oscars, as well as cichlids in general. I have several tanks of various sizes but the tank I have the oscars in is a 125 gallon. It has been up and running for about a month now and this evening I purchased two 2 inch tiger oscars to add. There are currently no other fish in the tank. I have been trying to find out the best advice on how to stock oscars so I get the least amount of aggression. However, I also want an interesting looking tank as this is as big as I can ever go. Options I have considered are adding a third oscar, two jack dempseys, or a school of 6 silver dollars. Some say never to keep two oscars, but always to keep 3 to disperse aggression. Other people say the opposite, stating that by keeping three you're asking for trouble when two pair up. I also read that three would be overstocked in a 125 but some people say it's fine as long as your filtration is adequate and you keep up with water changes. In my case, the tank is over filtered and I keep a very consistent water change schedule. As far as the JDs and silver dollars are concerned, some say keep oscars in a species only tank, others say it's fine as long as everyone is added around the same time etc... So now I am interested in hearing from some of you who have experience with any or all of this. I just want to do what is best and easiest on the fish and myself in the long run especially since going bigger is not an option.

Hi and welcome to the forum :)