I need some help with my discus tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Hondatek

Aquarium Advice Addict
So I have 5 5inch discus and a 2 inch in my 75 gallon.I been having ammonia issues for a month or two now but no problems with the heath of the fish. It's between 1 and 2 ppm ammonia 0 nitrite and 20 to 40 nitrate ph is 6. The tank has been up and running for 2 years and about 8 months with the discus in there. It has a 90 gallon emporer hob and. 100 gallon magnum canister for filtration. I have been doing 5 gallon pwc daily for two months to cure this issue but it doesn't help. anyone have any suggestions of what I should do?

I don't understand how that's possible if the tank has been up and running for two years. Is 6 discus overstocked?

Even if it were overstocked, you shouldn't have ammonia issues. You would have realy high nitrates if so. Your nitrates are high, but most likely due to the fact that you're going through a, what I would guess, mini cycle. I dont think you're overstocked, but I'm no discus expert either.

Have you ruled out a testing error? What kind of test are you doing? Have you tested on distilled or ro/di water to make sure it is reading 0?

I use API liquid test kit and I just bought more a few weeks ago. And I tested my tap water and other tanks and I get zero on my others and like .5 from tap

From the reading and asking I've done about discus, 5-6 in a 75 is fully stocked, but not overstocked. But if you're using seachem prime, or tetra aquasafe, or any other dechlorinator that ALSO takes out chloramines, then it should safely neutralize that .5 ammonia in your tap.

Okay, as long as it's stable, you should be fine. To be honest, it's a mystery to me why your ammonia should spike with a tank that's cycled. You don't change your filter media out do you...?