New to Saltwater Please Help

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

V p1839

Aquarium Advice Regular
I want to start a saltwater tank. I have had a freshwater tank for the last year and want to eventually convert it into a saltwater tank when the fish die/ I find a home for them.

What items do I need to create a successful saltwater tank?
I have a 12 gallon tank with hood. Heater, under gravel filtration, TopFin30 hanging filter and a TopFin20 air pump.

After the holidays I plan on purchasing a power center that has the day and night timers on them.

Any advice is welcome. I'm new to this and want to create a tank that I can house at least 2 True Percula Clown Fish or Ocellaris Clown Fish. Possibly want anename of some sort:(.

12 g is not easy to house 2 fish in. Your goona be doing a lot of water changes. To smaller the tank the more care required.

Your under gravel filtration has to go, it's out dated form of filtration and won't last long. Honesty a 12 g tank for a newbie reefer is not a good idea in my opinion. If you just want 2 clowns you might not struglgle as much, but it goin to be tough keeping the water clean for coral...

I would say a protein skimmer is your most important, next being your lights.

If I were you I would look for a Craigslist deal with a skimmer tank and maybe some live rock for a good price. Then I would personally build a small led light, house one fish, and load it with some soft coral and a good cleaning crew....

It's a small tank man, if you like the hobby your goon want to go bigger in 3 months

I want to go bigger but just don't have the space for a bigger tank. Do you have any recomendations for a 12 gallon saltwater tank? Or should I pretty much wait till i get a bigger tank?