Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-24-2005, 07:34 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: houston,texas
Posts: 238
125g tank not cycling

Hi!!! I have a 125g tank that has 125lbs of sand and 70lbs of lr. The rock has been in the tank for 5 days and I still don't have any readings. I took a sample to the lfs they got the same readings. Some of the rock put in the tank came from an established tank, the rest had been delivered that day. Am I not getting any die off to cycle with? I don't want to use fish. I have a prizm skimmer running and a hob filter and 2 powerheads. This has me very confused. I also started feeding the tank 3days ago. How come I am not cycling? Thanx for your help
__________________

__________________
tmkx3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2005, 07:58 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Poughkeepsie, NY
Posts: 3,294
Toss in 1-2 cocktail shrimp from the supermarket and they will start the cycle. Its possible that the cured LR you have has enough bacteria on it to take care of the ammonia from the die off on the new LR. It is also possible you have little to no die off on the new LR. No need to feed the tank right now.... Toss in the shrimp and after a few days to a week you should see some ammonia..... UNLESS the LR you have has enough bacteria on it to handle the ammonia.
One thing to remember is if the LR is cured then you will not have a cycle because there is no die off. Where did you get the new LR from.
How much new vs. how much old..
Only bad things happen fast in this hobby so there is no rush on the cycle.....
__________________

__________________
9/02-125 REEF, 125 lbs LR,LS 4x160 VHO, Reef Devil /Sump, Fuge
7/03-55 FOWLR 60lb LR, 50 lb SD sand 2x40 NO strip light, Reef Devil/sump, Fuge

TANK PICS http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewtopic.php?t=98202
seaham358 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2005, 08:38 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: houston,texas
Posts: 238
My husband got it from the lfs. I wasn't there so I don't know how much was taken from the established tank. He said that some was taken out of their displays that had fish in them. This lfs doesn't mind selling out of his display if he can't fill your order. It's a small mom & pop store, They have been in business over 20 yrs. I really like them. They were the ones that told me to go with the berlin method opposed to a wet/dry. I greatly appreciate that

I have heard different opinions about running the skimmer. What do you think? Do I have to have a large ammonia spike to cycle?
__________________
tmkx3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2005, 10:17 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Southern California
Posts: 930
Send a message via AIM to DragonForce
My tank did not even have a cycle. You said you got rock from an established tank, that is probably why it didn't cycle. If the sand you bought was live sand, then that further reinforces the probability that you won't have a cycle.
__________________
37 gal all glass
50lb LR
3' fine sand bed 1x Orange Stripe Prawn shrimp goby, 1x sixline wrassemated pair of true percula clowns, 1x CBS shrimp, 2x peppermint shrimp, 1x pistol shrimp, 1x tiger tale cuke, ~20+ snails, ~10+ hermits, 1xserpent star.
green Bubble coral, hammer coral (8 heads!) ,various Zoos,green finger leather, green star polpys ,shrooms
175w 10k MH
28w actinic 03
2x maxi jett 1200
Prizm skimmer (modded)
Hagen powerfilter(for running carbon 24/7)
nano arctica chiller
DragonForce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2005, 08:08 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: houston,texas
Posts: 238
So If I am not going to have cycle, then is the tank ready for a few fish? Should I add a cocktail shrimp first? This mt be a dumb quetion becausr the shrimp is for human consumption but can it care disease? I know that leaving a dead fish in the tank can cause real problems.
__________________
tmkx3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2005, 09:59 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Poughkeepsie, NY
Posts: 3,294
The key to your question is was the LR cured first... Some was and some ???
You want the dead shrimp in there to cause the ammonia to start the cycle. Store bought shrimp is fine.. Do you need to have a cycle?? If all the LR you bought was cured then you may never have a cycle because there are enough bacteria on the LR to take care of the ammonia. Test your tank for nitrite and nitrate and post the numbers.

Are you ready for a few fish, No. 1 fish maybe... Start out slow do not rush the tank, it needs to mature after each fish added by growing more bacteria to handle the fish load. Adding too many at once can cause problems. Read up on proper acclimation of SW fish .
If you can find out were all the LR came from that would help.
__________________
9/02-125 REEF, 125 lbs LR,LS 4x160 VHO, Reef Devil /Sump, Fuge
7/03-55 FOWLR 60lb LR, 50 lb SD sand 2x40 NO strip light, Reef Devil/sump, Fuge

TANK PICS http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewtopic.php?t=98202
seaham358 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2005, 10:04 AM   #7
AA Team Emeritus
 
austinsdad's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Accokeek, Maryland
Posts: 7,694
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/showqu...q=2&fldAuto=15

An article from this site about cycling w/out fish.
__________________
-Ray-

"Life may not be the party we hoped for but while we are here we might as well dance!"

austinsdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2005, 11:18 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: houston,texas
Posts: 238
okay guys I went and bought 3 shrimp. They didn't have any heads. My 5 year old freaked out. She thinks I am crazy. My husband will be out of town until friday. How long do I have to keep those smelly things in there? I don't think my husband will understand. He has helped me alot with all of this but he has his limits. He wants me to just put some cheap fish in there. Some one told him you could cycle with 99 cent mollies. I have been able to keep him at bay so far.
__________________
tmkx3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2005, 08:17 AM   #9
AA Team Emeritus
 
austinsdad's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Accokeek, Maryland
Posts: 7,694
What if she uses a sheet of carbon in a water flow area? Won't that keep the smell down? In spite of the article (fishless cycling) she'll probably also need some advice on water changes - which may extend the cycle time?

tmkx3, you may be in for a couple or 3 weeks of this (hopefully with the smell controlled). Got your test kit? Need to watch the ammonia go way up and come down as the nitrite does the same. When both are at zero you'll be ready to add fish (slowly) and cleanup crew.

Also, I wouldn't worry about the shrimp carrying disease at all. I'd also think you can remove the smelly things after the ammonia has spiked. Some use a piece of cheesecloth to wrap the shrimp in order to avoid the decay from breaking into little pieces.

Have you thought about a QT tank? Lemme tell you, it's no fun to have your tank almost fully stocked, and buy the last fish, only to introduce something harmful to the others - with a lot of rock/hiding place, so that you can't catch the sick one.

Good luck and keep us posted.
__________________
-Ray-

"Life may not be the party we hoped for but while we are here we might as well dance!"

austinsdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2005, 08:38 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: houston,texas
Posts: 238
Does running carbon help? I put the shrimp in mesh bag. I have had freshwater tanks before so I know about the process that take place during the cycle. When I cycled my fresh tank, I used fish that is how I know I don't want to do that again. I only lost a couple of fish but I went thru weeks of trying to save them. They made it thru the cycle but about a week after my nitrates went down they got ill. I assume from the damage the cycle put them thru. It made them very weak I guess. It broke my heart I have a 10g that I was gonna use for a qt. I read that if you run a small filter on your tank it will be have a bio-filter and you can put that on your qt when needed
__________________

__________________
tmkx3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
1.5g, cycling, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My 125G SW tank. dezso Members Saltwater Tanks Showcase 243 09-18-2011 11:36 AM
125g empty tank Seepu Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 12-04-2007 10:22 AM
125g tank davidtcb1 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 10 06-03-2006 01:24 AM
update on 125g not cycling tmkx3 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 6 11-03-2005 07:38 PM
Your opinions on planning a new 125G tank Spiderman Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 4 12-19-2004 07:42 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.