Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-16-2006, 02:21 PM   #1
AA Team Emeritus
 
austinsdad's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Accokeek, Maryland
Posts: 7,694
Anybody know of a good plan for a closed loop?

Thinking about doing one for my 155g reef. I've only got about a 6.5x turnover with my main return pump. Looking to do one to bring it up to about 15x or so. Really don't think I'm doing powerheads this time around to supplement.
__________________

__________________
-Ray-

"Life may not be the party we hoped for but while we are here we might as well dance!"

austinsdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2006, 04:58 PM   #2
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
this site might help you out a bit on your adventure with a closed loop system.

http://www.melevsreef.com/how_to_build.html this is the technical

http://www.melevsreef.com/closedloop.html heres the pics
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2006, 05:13 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Piedmont, NC
Posts: 4,580
I made my own. The one on melevs reef will not handle the flow you need. I made my intake out of 2" PVC. I cut every 1/4" using a table saw, and set the depth of the cuts to leave about 3/4 inch between to hold it together. I clamped a piece of wood to the pipe to keep it from rolling so the cuts would be uniform. The rest of it is just standard pumping setting the returns where you want them etc.
__________________
*The fact that no one understands you doesn't make you an artist.
*If guns kill people...Spoons make Michael Moore fat.
Brenden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2006, 09:30 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
revhtree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Rossville. Ga
Posts: 4,500
Any pics Brenden?
__________________
Remember to Keep Christ First!
revhtree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2006, 11:43 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: philadelphia. PA.
Posts: 2,679
Quote:
this site might help you out a bit on your adventure with a closed loop system.
... http://www.melevsreef.com/closedloop.html heres the pics
The one he demonstrates is small, but the basics are the same. SCWD's can handle upto 1800(EDIT- upto 1400 GPH), the down side is they only have 3/4" inlet/outlets at this time. Reducing the plumbing could be cumbersome but, I have to say, I LOVE my SCWD! The best 40 bucks I've spent on this hobby in a long time. Good luck.
__________________
Mike
MT79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2006, 11:52 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,066
Send a message via Yahoo to vsnsofadrgn
thanks mt79, im upgrading and have been thinking of doing that from melevsreef.com, only working it around my new 55. glad to know i can make it custom to my tank, i was thinking i could, i just didnt know about the wavemaker....... good luck austinsdad!
__________________
visions of a dragon

hope dies last
vsnsofadrgn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2006, 12:22 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Piedmont, NC
Posts: 4,580
A 3/4" inch pipe running at 50 PSI will only deliver 12 GPM/720 GPH. How are you getting 1800 GPH through a 3/4 inch opening?
__________________
*The fact that no one understands you doesn't make you an artist.
*If guns kill people...Spoons make Michael Moore fat.
Brenden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2006, 01:09 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: philadelphia. PA.
Posts: 2,679
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brenden
3/4" inch pipe running at 50 PSI will only deliver 12 GPM/720 GPH. How are you getting 1800 GPH through a 3/4 inch opening?
You reduce the plumbing only at the SCWD to limit restriction.
Quote:
Originally Posted by I
SCWD's can handle upto 1800(EDIT- upto 1400 GPH),
I said "handle". Meaning above that level GPH, the pressure would be too much for the device (per the manufacturers ratings). It will obviously cause back pressure, but perform well IMO/IME.

FWIW, there was a rumor going around about new models w/ larger diameter inlet/outlets... We'll see.
__________________

__________________
Mike
MT79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone using closed loop? Scatcat General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 13 06-18-2005 10:33 PM
Closed loop on 2.5 penguinsix General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 04-18-2005 03:39 PM
What exactly is a closed loop? mrpope Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 12-21-2004 09:46 AM
what is a closed loop? guitarded Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 12-18-2004 11:31 PM
Best way to do a closed loop? pomme Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 04-27-2004 10:50 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.