Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-01-2004, 11:34 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: ohio
Posts: 440
anyone ever wire a square pin PC ?

I got a workhorse seven and think I have it figured out , but the square pin socket has got me stuck at the moment. DOnt know if I need to connect some pins to each other etc... any help is appreciated

thanks,
Jake
__________________

__________________
kidkameleon3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2004, 12:50 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Rosemount, MN
Posts: 1,091
Send a message via AIM to WarOrks15 Send a message via MSN to WarOrks15
well that is what the cls hood i just took apart had. there was 4 red wires and one yellow one i think. and all 4 of the red wires whent to 2 of the red wires on the 4 pin socket. and the 1 yellow one went to the 2 blue wires. hope this helps a little.oh and the black wire gose to the black wire on the power and the white gose to the white wire on the power. and if you want to put in a switch for the light you put that on the black wire going to the ballest. hope this helps some. i will try to get some pic of the wireing but it will be very hard to do soo. in the next week i have to take the hood down and fix some stuff so i can get some pics then. but that will not before about a week +.
__________________

__________________
A 46 gal bow front (Soft coral) reef tank with a 10 gal sump. And a 30 gal (SPS and Clam) reef tank hooked up to the sump of the 46 so they share water.
WarOrks15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2004, 01:46 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: ohio
Posts: 440
well it helps and it doesn't. My sockets dont have wires,it only has the socket.The wires from the ballast connect to the socket.It has a input for each pin on the bulb.I jsut dont know what pins get what wires.You figured they would have it labeled on the socket.
__________________
kidkameleon3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2004, 06:21 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Cochranville PA
Posts: 698
my pc has the same config. and all the bulbs came on no matter which orientation the bulbs were. hth
__________________
A lot of ripples make a wave
darb2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2004, 08:04 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Omicron Persia 8
Posts: 693
Hehe, when I did mine I found that I could light the bulbs by only connecting 1 wire It would ground simply from static it seems. I have the straight configuration, and haven't used the squares. I'd imagine they are the same except for the shape of the connector. Anyway, the pins are set up in pairs. Each pin is directly connected to the 2nd one. If you test with a multimeter, you'll find there is no resistance between the connected pins. All it takes is hooking the yellow wire to either pin of 1 pair, and the red to either pin of the 2nd pair.

hth
__________________
indy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2004, 08:06 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: ohio
Posts: 440
well that gives me some hope. I'll check the resistance etc.. when I get home and try again.Thanks for the tips
__________________
kidkameleon3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2004, 07:10 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: ohio
Posts: 440
well it turned out we were all right. As I tried and tried today after work , the classic dawned on me.Wonder if it is the bulb, sure enough it was. I called the guys and we are in worls to get it fixed.

Guess well see how A to T lights holds up

thnaks for all the help
__________________

__________________
kidkameleon3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
square

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB 20"-24" ballast (square pin end cap) locorosa Archive 3 02-08-2007 01:13 AM
POLL: Square Pin or Straight Pin HO flourescents and why? runway1 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 07-18-2005 05:54 AM
PC - Square or Straight pin? dansemacabre DIY Projects 4 06-02-2004 10:12 AM
Square pin PC bulbs cathyjane Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 03-03-2004 12:57 AM
How to wire MH reflector to ballast? jamal-188 DIY Projects 4 11-08-2003 12:54 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.