Aqua Vitro Salt

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Keithhjs

Aquarium Advice Addict
Anyone try using this brand salt, specifically for a reef? Looking for reviews.

I have wondered this myself. Really has not been much chatter on the forums about these products. This is Seachems premium line correct?

Yes. I am going to try it. I got a 220 gal mix for $62 so for that price I figured I would test it out.

I'm pretty new at saltwater but I am trying two salts right now. Aqua Vitro and H2Ocean Pro. I've had a bucket of each. I just ran out of AV so I'm going to try the H2O. The AV seems to be great. Coral loves it and coraline exploded. The thing I don't like about it is that it's cloudy for a while and leaves a ton of film and sediment in my mixing barrel and my power head and heater in the barrel are white when I'm done. The H2O mixes crystal clear and leaves no residue. I did my last water change with the AV so I'll test again to see where all the parameters fall (30 gallon changes in 100 gal tank). At 62 a bucket it's a steal. It's $100 at only lfs I can get it. H2O is $90. The only problem I have heard about H20 is mag levels are a bit low. If everything is comparable I'll stick with H2O because it mixes so much better and is natural. From people I know that have more experience claim they are the best two salts available. I'll go test the AV right now and let you know (before adding it to my tank).

RO Water
Temp 79*
Salinity 1.024
KH 7
Calcium 380
PH 8.4
Mag 1300

All tests were with API kit except for Mag was red sea. Used a calibrated refractometer.

Hope this helps.