bristle worm

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Dawny11

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Having lost 5 fish to "something sinister" in live rock, I replaced the lose with one clown and a feather duster. Within the feather duster is covered in a white slimy film and is "hungover" The clown is swimming very close to the top of the tank. I noticed a bristle worm about 2 inches long poking out of the live rock and wondered if this could be the "sinister beast"? Would a bristle worm kill fish AND a large duster? The duster is open,moving but hanging over and I'm not sure if it will survive, but it doesn't look as healthy as it did yesterday. Water levels all good. Hope you can help please. I'm new to this and have been so dissapointed so far and am about to give up......:(

No bristle worms dont kill fish... What are your perameters?? Temp? Salinity? Water change schedule?

I'm totally new to this hobby and am learning every day. I took a sample of the water to my aqua store and everything is fine in with the water. The temperature is set at 28 degrees. I dropped the lighting due to green haired algae. I was surprised that there was a number of slimy trails within the water as if something had released it. The cleaner shrimp has cleared this away. I have three emerald crabs in the tank and one was on the "stem" of the duster so I gently removed it and noticed the white slim is also on the duster's body?

The answer to the question "could a bristle worm kill"... possibly. "would it"... extremely unlikely.
First off, there are hundreds of species of bristle/fire worms found in reef aquaria. By far the most common is E. complanata, which can theoretically reach up to a foot long. Usually tops out at 2-4 inches.