Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-01-2011, 03:50 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Tinley Park, IL
Posts: 173
Carbon?

From what I understand running carbon in reef tanks are good. Typically carbon comes in a little bag and you put it in your sock. However, I also have a fresh water tank that has carbon filters. Would I be able to cut up the carbon filter from my freshwater tank and use it in my saltwater tank?
__________________

__________________
warvillian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2011, 04:40 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 640
No always use new carbon when putting it into tanks. It is cheaper to get a jug full of carbon and put it into a filter sock then cutting up filters.
__________________

__________________
Tomchong22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2011, 05:57 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Tinley Park, IL
Posts: 173
I currently dont use the filters in my freshwater tank, so it's just sitting around. That's why I go the Idea.
__________________
warvillian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2011, 06:15 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
SwimsWithFish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,660
Quote:
Originally Posted by warvillian
I currently dont use the filters in my freshwater tank, so it's just sitting around. That's why I go the Idea.
How big is the tank?
__________________
''An eye for an eye only makes the whole world blind.''
-Ghandi

life is short... get a fish.
SwimsWithFish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2011, 06:20 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Tinley Park, IL
Posts: 173
I have a 75 Gal and a 26 gal.
__________________
warvillian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2011, 06:29 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
SwimsWithFish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,660
And they don't have filters?
__________________
''An eye for an eye only makes the whole world blind.''
-Ghandi

life is short... get a fish.
SwimsWithFish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2011, 08:28 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Tinley Park, IL
Posts: 173
They do, just not carbon filters
__________________
warvillian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2011, 08:36 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
SwimsWithFish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,660
Haha you scared me for a second!
__________________

__________________
''An eye for an eye only makes the whole world blind.''
-Ghandi

life is short... get a fish.
SwimsWithFish is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
carbon

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Carbon Confusion LarryS Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 23 11-08-2011 06:01 PM
Carbon cartridge Convict2161 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 10-14-2011 09:28 AM
Carbon Riley New Acquisitions 0 10-09-2011 06:08 PM
HOB Filter inserts w/out carbon? theoutdoorsykid General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 07-30-2011 03:31 PM
To use activated carbon or to not... JoeyPB General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 11 06-27-2011 03:07 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.