Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-22-2013, 11:27 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
LKemp712's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Bismarck,ND
Posts: 42
Catching Fish

I just upgraded from a 55 gallon tank to a 125 gallon tank. I never had trouble catching my fish in the 55 despite all of my live rock, but now I am having trouble. Does anyone have any slick ideas for me on how to catch my fish in this tank? I have all my live rock on the sides of my tank where it is drilled so my cortex ray has a large sand bed.. Thanks, Lindsey!
__________________

__________________
LKemp712 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2013, 11:29 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
alco1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Victoira, Australia
Posts: 322
when I moved houses, I removed all the live rock and took most of the water out of my 265g and left about 3"-4" of water and then scooped them out with the net
__________________

__________________
View my 265g DIY tank so far
alco1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2013, 11:32 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
LKemp712's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Bismarck,ND
Posts: 42
I have already switched tanks from the 55g to the 120g. I just need advice on how to catch them in there with it full.
__________________
LKemp712 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2013, 11:34 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
alco1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Victoira, Australia
Posts: 322
ohhhh sorry, I would say use 2 nets. one for them to move in the direction you want and the other to catch the fish and a lot of patience lol
__________________
View my 265g DIY tank so far
alco1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2013, 11:42 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 15
I used a piece of acrylic and sectioned of the section with no rocks after getting the fish on that side. No problem after that.
__________________
mike.doyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2013, 12:00 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
TheTodd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Palm Springs, CA
Posts: 3,110
Egg crate works to section off the tank too. I just had to catch two Chromis in a 240g. Waited until both were on one side... Dropped the egg crate down in the center and moved it towards them. Used two nets and had them both in about ten minutes.
__________________
TheTodd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2013, 03:24 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Bray84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 513
Quote:
Originally Posted by alco1 View Post
ohhhh sorry, I would say use 2 nets. one for them to move in the direction you want and the other to catch the fish and a lot of patience lol
thats what I do and find it easy.
__________________

__________________
Bray84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
chi, fish

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.