Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-13-2012, 06:58 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
RYANLAWRENCE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: The Lone Star State
Posts: 315
Ok, I've watched a few youtube videos and I think that I understand it all for the most part. What size of tank would be best for a 40 gallon tank? And can you make an overflow box, or would it be better to buy one?
__________________

__________________
40 gallon FOWLR
-2 ocellaris clowns (mated pair)
-1 diadem pseudochromis
-1 flame hawkfish
RYANLAWRENCE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 07:10 PM   #12
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,549
You can make them, but I think the CPR overflows with an aqualifter pump are the best way to go. A nice fail safe from losing siphon. My system went great until my lifter pump died and it went downhill from there.
__________________

Sniperhank is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 07:20 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
RYANLAWRENCE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: The Lone Star State
Posts: 315
Ok where would you get those? Know of a good online store?
__________________
40 gallon FOWLR
-2 ocellaris clowns (mated pair)
-1 diadem pseudochromis
-1 flame hawkfish
RYANLAWRENCE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 07:21 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
bavass's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Waynesboro Virginia
Posts: 1,797
Marinedepot.com, bulkreefsupply.com, aquacave.com
__________________
bavass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2012, 12:01 AM   #15
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
RYANLAWRENCE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: The Lone Star State
Posts: 315
What size of sump would a 40 gallon tank need?
__________________
40 gallon FOWLR
-2 ocellaris clowns (mated pair)
-1 diadem pseudochromis
-1 flame hawkfish
RYANLAWRENCE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2012, 02:06 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
RYANLAWRENCE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: The Lone Star State
Posts: 315
Sorry to revive this thread guys, but I don't know what size sump to get for a 40 gallon tank...can anyone help me with that?
__________________
40 gallon FOWLR
-2 ocellaris clowns (mated pair)
-1 diadem pseudochromis
-1 flame hawkfish
RYANLAWRENCE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2012, 02:13 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Rutrag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 1,133
There is no really set answer other than you want one as big as possible. The sump adds water volume to the tank and needs to be big enough to contain your skimmer (assuming it's going in sump) and return pump (again, assuming it's a submersible). If you are using any media reactors or if you are making a chamber a refugium, you'll want to take that into account as well. The sump needs some excess capacity so that if you lose power, the sump doesn't overflow from the water back-siphoning or draining from your tank. I didn't re-read the thread to see if your tank was drilled or if you were using a hang-on overflow.

To help further answer your question, what are you going to put in your sump?
__________________
It is a violation of federal law to use this product in a manner inconsistent with its labelling.
Rutrag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2012, 04:38 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
bavass's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Waynesboro Virginia
Posts: 1,797
Quote:
Originally Posted by RYANLAWRENCE
Sorry to revive this thread guys, but I don't know what size sump to get for a 40 gallon tank...can anyone help me with that?
I would say go as big as you can go. If you are using an aquarium i wouldnt go less than a 20g long.
__________________
bavass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2012, 02:59 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
RYANLAWRENCE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: The Lone Star State
Posts: 315
Thanks for the help guys, I think a 20 gallon would be sufficient. I want to have a bio ball section where the water enters the sump, a protein skimmer section, and of course the return pump. I do not think I would do macro algae since I'll be gone to college again in a few months, and it would just be something else for my parents to take care of. I'll be using an overflow box since my tank is not drilled.
__________________
40 gallon FOWLR
-2 ocellaris clowns (mated pair)
-1 diadem pseudochromis
-1 flame hawkfish
RYANLAWRENCE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2012, 03:10 PM   #20
Fish R friends, not food!
 
spoonman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 3,720
If you want it to be easy to take care of, dont use the bioballs. Just put the skimmer and live rock in there. Maybe a filter sock for the drain side.
__________________

spoonman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bacteria, bloom, cyano, cyanobacteria

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.