Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-11-2012, 02:09 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Convict2161's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 14,818
Does purple up work? Cause purple tech didn't

Basically what the title says. I went through a big bottle and dosed per directions and nothing. Now I have Purple Up. I even took a rock from a friends tank and shaved it into my tank. I've read up that my tank could be "too clean?"

Could this be?
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

"When creating an aqua scape, strive for the beauty of imperfection, as its art and there is no wrong or right, it's left open for interpretation" James Findley
Convict2161 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2012, 02:32 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
AquaRick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Northern CA
Posts: 2,638
Purple up does nothing for tanks that have the right amount of Ca, Mg etc. It's just concentrated calcium and only really useful for tanks that aren't using reef salts and have low amounts of those elements.
__________________

__________________
225G Reef Upgrade
AquaRick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2012, 02:56 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Convict2161's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 14,818
Quote:
Originally Posted by AquaRick
Purple up does nothing for tanks that have the right amount of Ca, Mg etc. It's just concentrated calcium and only really useful for tanks that aren't using reef salts and have low amounts of those elements.
Oh ok. Then I shouldn't be using it. My calcium is at 440 so I could be doing harm then? Just wanted to get some Coraline growing. Sounds like I just have to patient.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

"When creating an aqua scape, strive for the beauty of imperfection, as its art and there is no wrong or right, it's left open for interpretation" James Findley
Convict2161 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2012, 03:16 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
AquaRick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Northern CA
Posts: 2,638
just need to be patient
__________________
225G Reef Upgrade
AquaRick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2012, 03:17 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
AquaRick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Northern CA
Posts: 2,638
Also, it doesn't come out of nowhere. Coraline must be introduced. So the shavings should help.
__________________
225G Reef Upgrade
AquaRick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2012, 03:34 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Convict2161's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 14,818
Quote:
Originally Posted by AquaRick
Also, it doesn't come out of nowhere. Coraline must be introduced. So the shavings should help.
Thanks again Rick. I'll try the shavings again and just wait it out.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

"When creating an aqua scape, strive for the beauty of imperfection, as its art and there is no wrong or right, it's left open for interpretation" James Findley
Convict2161 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2012, 03:50 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
AquaRick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Northern CA
Posts: 2,638
Make sure to turn off your sump pump if you have one. You want the shavings to move around and get lodged in rock crevices and not down your overflow into your sump.
__________________
225G Reef Upgrade
AquaRick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2012, 05:29 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 1,348
Quote:
Originally Posted by AquaRick View Post
just need to be patient
+1! Nothing good happens fast in a saltwater tank. Sometimes it takes months for coralline to really start to spread. Eventually, it'll grow wild, but that will take a long time.
The shavings are a good idea, but just like Rick said, turn off the skimmer for a while after adding them.
__________________
Someone stop me! Please! But... not just yet...
55 Gal Tropical FW
55 Gal Mixed Reef
MacDracor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2012, 08:03 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Convict2161's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 14,818
Quote:
Originally Posted by AquaRick
Make sure to turn off your sump pump if you have one. You want the shavings to move around and get lodged in rock crevices and not down your overflow into your sump.
Ok so I don't have a sump, should I shut down the power heads, skimmer and MJ 1200? Which I guess is my pump.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

"When creating an aqua scape, strive for the beauty of imperfection, as its art and there is no wrong or right, it's left open for interpretation" James Findley
Convict2161 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2012, 11:35 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Jspires688's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Indiana
Posts: 236
Look for a hermit crab or snail at the lfs that has it on its shell
__________________

__________________
Jspires688 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

« Corals... | mh ? »
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.