Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-03-2012, 10:40 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
paul87's Avatar

POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 4,267
drilling established aquarium for sump?!

So I have a spare 10 gallon tank laying around and I've always wanted to make it a sump for my 35 gallon. Only thing that keeps me away from it I'd that is scares the **** outta me to drill my tank. I've watched s couple videos on YouTube that make it look so easy. I need some advice and suggestions on this. Size of hole and location and how to do an overflow box and everything. Is it just too risky?
__________________

__________________

paul87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 10:43 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mrc8858's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 5,834
Honestly I think that's a really bad idea since you would have to bring the water level below the hole and then you have 24-48 hour cure time for the overflow box if you go that route but I guess if you went with just a stand pipe off the side or back glass it would be possible if extremely careful.
__________________

__________________
Mrc8858 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 11:10 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
paul87's Avatar

POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 4,267
Is the overflow box necessary or not? What's a stand pipe? What if I drill the hole right at the water level surface that way if power goes out it wont drain much into the sump? I don't know much on the matter.
__________________

paul87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 11:13 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mrc8858's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 5,834
The stand pipe would be pvc screwed into the bulk head that would have an opening with a type of caging around it that you could put at the height you want your water level but the you have an ugly pipe in your tank. The over flow box would be a box of glass/acrylic around the bulkhead with teeth cut into the top to allow water to flow into the box and the down your bulkhead.
__________________
Mrc8858 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 11:21 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
paul87's Avatar

POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 4,267
Why would it be in my tank? Wouldn't it just be a hole with a pipe coming out of the back of my tank? I think I might would go for the over flow box though. Dunno just trying figure it out. All I would need is one hole drilled right? To the sump then one more pipe pumped back to the tank
__________________

paul87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 11:27 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mrc8858's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 5,834
Ya just one hole but you would have to take a pipe from the bulkhead with a 90 degree elbow so you could turn it around its radius to adjust the water level. I guess technically you could just put a cage in front of the bulkhead with no pipe but I've never seen that done before.
__________________
Mrc8858 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 11:44 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Phranque's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Miamisburg, OH
Posts: 1,443
Me either. You do not want water flowing straight into an open bulkhead hole. If any kind of critter gets in there (snail, fish, hermit, etc) and plugs the line, you will then have a flooded main tank since your return pump is still returning water, but none is making back to the sump. As Mrc stated, you want to have a very short piece of pipe coming out of the bulkhead, then a 90 pointing straight up, and a pipe coming up out of that with a strainer on top (hence, "standpipe"). The height of the standpipe determines the water level in the tank.
__________________
Phranque is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 10:13 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
paul87's Avatar

POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 4,267
Gotcha. That makes pretty good sense. What size PVC pipe would be sufficient?
__________________

paul87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 10:17 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mrc8858's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 5,834
Double your return line so 1 1/2-2" should ge good
__________________
Mrc8858 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 11:03 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
paul87's Avatar

POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 4,267
So 1 1/2" from tank to sump and 3/4" from sump to tank?
__________________

__________________

paul87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.