Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 05-16-2013, 12:50 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

fish are extremely skiddidsh

I have a 29 gallon tank that i have been running for a little over two months now. i have 3 pieces of live rock in it for now, and a sand substrate. last sunday i added my first three inhabitants... (besides the inhabitants from the live rock and sand) to my tank first i added a 3 stripe damsel and a blue damsel, the next day i added a blue green chromis. as soon as i added the damsels they went straight for my heater and hid behind it. then eventually the blue damsel found the rock and fluffed up the sand under it and made herself a cave (which she has done with each of the three rocks in the tank.) and now the 3 stripe has taken refuge behind my filter tube. the chromis for the first few days was fine and just swam out and about no matter what...which is what all of them do when they dont see me walking around outside of the tank. but as soon as i get close enough to the tank they all hide now. I plan on getting two more chromis down the road because i know they are comfortable with a few to school. my question is.. is this healthy for the damsels to be so skiddish with me and will this problem.... if its a problem resolve itself. im not really to worried about it because they are eating fine but i would just like to be able to see them out my buddy has a blue damsel that almost never hides no matter what he is doing even with tank maintenance... i am afraid to clean the glass in my tank for fear that i will kill the fish out of stress. any advice for me.. sorry for the long post

Old 05-16-2013, 01:12 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic