Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-24-2004, 02:30 PM   #11
cj10488
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
I guess you could have that much flow with sps. i dont have any so i dont really know. with my lps tho when i put in a PH to add more gph they all started blowing away and ended up closing up. so i guess it depends on what you are keeping.
It kinda all depends on where you put the LPS.. I have a few LPS bubble Coral, Plate coral, and Large Frogspawn.. I was able to find perfect places where they like it..

James
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2004, 02:39 PM   #12
AA Team Emeritus
 
reefrunner69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cedar Key, FL
Posts: 1,663
If the flow is diffused enough, I don't think it's too much for anything. Velocity and flow are two different things.
__________________

__________________
Kevin

Visit Nature Coast Photography
reefrunner69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2004, 09:48 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 63
Send a message via ICQ to micaheli Send a message via AIM to micaheli Send a message via MSN to micaheli Send a message via Yahoo to micaheli
Exactly. Also, WHY the heck would I need a closed loop if I can take care of everything with the return pump? Why waste my time and money plumbing everything in a closed loop when I can plumb it all through the sump/overflow. I don't understand the benefits of having a closed loop system over a sump system. Can somebody shed some light? Do I just not understand?

--Micah
__________________
--Micah
micaheli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2004, 10:27 PM   #14
AA Team Emeritus
 
reefrunner69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cedar Key, FL
Posts: 1,663
Quote:
I don't understand the benefits of having a closed loop system over a sump system.
There are many reasons why you would want a closed loop over a sup.

1) The number of gravity fed overflows needed to drain the amount of water you can move through a closed loop is very expensive.
2) Many people have flow requirements for their sumps, IE; you don't want 1600 gph, going through a refugium sized for a 55g tank Or through a wet dry for a 55g tank.
3) Closed loops don't flood

If you feel it is best to put that much through your sump, then I would hypotosize, you really don't have need of a sump and can get by with a closed loop by itself. Your skimmer will have a difficult time removing organics from the water with that much flow through the sump, the heaters will be ineffecient. Most of the things you put in a sump need dwell time to operate efficiently.
__________________
Kevin

Visit Nature Coast Photography
reefrunner69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2004, 02:18 AM   #15
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 63
Send a message via ICQ to micaheli Send a message via AIM to micaheli Send a message via MSN to micaheli Send a message via Yahoo to micaheli
Reefrunner,

Thanks! Finally a good reason! that WOULD be a lot of water moving through a refugium.

Just FYI: I'm making my own overflows, so it wouldn't be expensive... But still... I won't have to worry about overflowing with a closed loop. Too bad skimmers have to be in sumps or HOB. I'm fairly anti-hob due to microbubble problems and my lack of wanting to deal with them. So, I'll just get a smaller pump for return and make a closed loop for circ. Do you think around 500gph is enough for a 55gal through a sump? the skimmer will be powered by a 700gph pump.. So I figure a slightly less gph would be ideal for the return. Then I can do whatever for closed loop.

Thanks again
__________________
--Micah
micaheli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2004, 05:32 AM   #16
AA Team Emeritus
 
reefrunner69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cedar Key, FL
Posts: 1,663
Quote:
Do you think around 500gph is enough for a 55gal through a sump? the skimmer will be powered by a 700gph pump.. So I figure a slightly less gph would be ideal for the return. Then I can do whatever for closed loop.
Yep, I think that will be fine
__________________

__________________
Kevin

Visit Nature Coast Photography
reefrunner69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
55 gallon, gph, reef

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
55gal reef is going well now 55gal FO melissasreef Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 12 07-24-2009 08:02 PM
Selling my 55gal reef fireman26m Archive 0 06-15-2006 08:26 PM
my first fuge: overflow gph vs. return pump gph copi Saltwater Reef Aquaria 16 05-05-2005 10:58 PM
1000 Gph too much for 55Gal? arminkropp Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 6 12-12-2004 11:36 PM
reef lighting on 55gal 03shee Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 01-26-2004 09:06 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.