Help needed please, I'm a newbie to marine

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

kazzie

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi

I purchased a second hand tank an aqua one tank and it came with external filter, heater and T5 lighting.

I was advised to. Lean everything out with warm water and get rid of all media due to being second hand and not replace it yet as it's not needed yet. I went to my Lfs and purchased he water the tank takes 180L this water is all ready with salt. I got it to temperature then my nightmare began......I was advised once to temperature to add the live sand, I'm sure you know what I'm going to say haha the water is opaque so cloudy you can't see a thing it's been 24 hours and still opaque I went back Lfs and they said try adding live rock and keep my filter running I bought 2kg of rock today will be buying some more over next day or so and my tank is still so very opaque Bo improvement whatsoever.

Does anyone have any advise on what to do to try and clear the water and will the live rock be ok I actually can't see it so can't really keep an eye on its progress etc. also do I need to switch on the lights?

Sorry re the long post just getting a bit worried.

Thanks

first off im pretty new to saltwater also but I would have added sand first then put a cup in bottom of tank and pour water into the cup. it makes it a lot easier on the sand and wont toss it around everywhere. also what kind of external filter? is it a canister or sump

I think its a canister pump it has 3 baskets inside and a clip on lid if that means anything to you, I am totally new but trying to learn. Common sense tells me to add sand first but the Lfs man told me to do it this way :-(