Complete Newbie - done a bit of research and now overwhelmed a bit

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

gazza1988

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello,

I have a Aqua el leddy 75 tank - not purchased from here though this is a link to show which one (it came with all the stuff listed) and I have filled it ~20 hours ago, I have treated it with Tap safe (I have exactly this purchased from the actual store) and because I purchased live plants I was told to use Microbe-Lift Plants Green Fertiliser (again purchased that exact product from their physical store). Which I have dosed the water with already.

From that same store, we have a 10kg bag of gravel. We were told that for our tank size, we may not need it all. However, it is a very thin layer with all the gravel in it. Some places I've seen say a thin layer and some say up to 2 inches deep. I really don't know on that one what would be the best

we are having some Platy fish from friends. I was told there were not that many then today I found out it is 17. How am I going to do this? I read the guides on here and it seems the advice of putting some water in the tank with some tap-safe, leaving it a couple of days and then introducing the fish isn't the best.

I am really at a loss.

The guides say about introducing pure ammonia for the cycle but I don't know what to do. I've got an information overload and not sure how to proceed from where I am which is 100 litres of tap safe treated water with some fertilizer in it, some gravel and some plants (well a heater and a pump too).

What would you do next?
Here is a link to a photo of how my tank currently looks

For a start, do not add 17 platys into that tank.