How many snails and crabs to get?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

fishin

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
This is my first time posting I have been reading the forums for the past month. The forums are very helpful.

My tank is a 75 gallon oceanic, 30 gallon sump, protein skimmer, 50-75lbs. live rock, 2 power heads. The guy I bought it from said it was set up for 2 years their is 3 damsels and no snails or crabs just the 3 fish. The tank has been set up for a month when I moved the tank I kept all the water and did the whole tote thing.

My question is how many snails and crabs do I need? I found a kit at satwaterfish.com

30-90 gallon reef package
20 scarlet crabs
20 blue leg crabs
3 emerald crabs
20 turbo snails
10 Nassarius snails
1 coral banded shrimp
2 feather dusters

Is this overboard?

Thanks for the help

Chancy

As far as I know cleaner packages contain the right amount of 'cleaners', especially if you have algae growing already, if not then it might be a little overboard. :D

Welcome to AquariumAdvice.com!!! :smilecolros: :smilecolros: :smilecolros:
That cleaner package is appropriate, just make sure all water parameters are okay before adding them.

Too many turbo snails. Two of them ate all the algae off my back glass in two days. They'll die rather abruptly after eating everything (as was the experience in a 150g tank). I'd drop 15 turbos for more nassarius but that's just me. Those turbos are huge in my 75g. Of course this is only a visual thing, if you're going to be dropping some in the 'fuge you could go with 10 (5 in tank, 5 in fuge.. cuz you should never have to clean the fuge).

Welcome to the forum. I would go lighter on the hermits and heavier on the snails, especially the Nassarius snails. You can always add more later.
What the heck to feather dusters and CBS have to do with cleanup....lol.
Do you have any LR?