huh??

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

partypalooza5

Aquarium Advice Addict
I've been researching SW for about two years now (almost every day in fact, i think I'm obsessed :p)

Anyway, My mom's friend has a SW tank and it looks terrible (SHE even complains about it) My mom is all worried I will let my tank look like that.

So she asks her how often you change the water, she said never because it's SW. (Even in FW water changes are important!) Then she asks if there's a sump under their tank she said no that's stupid. (ok maybe not totally stupid but she said there's no point in it) She also said she doesn't use a skimmer and she uses a canister filter.

And now my moms questioning my way of setting things up based solely on what her friend said! :rolleyes: Parents..

... All i've got to say is that your moms freind is ignorant. Either that, or she just sucks at researching. I feel bad for whatever is living in that tank.. if there is anything living in there ;/

There's like one fish and algae like you wouldn't believe. I haven't seen it in a while so I don't know if that one fish is still even there =(.

Correct the tank for her friend and prove yourself.... then you can keep what you want. :)

Dude, weak. I agree w/ HN1. If you whip a crappy tank back into shape, your parents will see that you know how to maintain your own tank. And obviously, that will be good for your plans. ;)

I'd love to fix someone else's tank. xD But who are they going to believe? Some kid or someone from the petstore that really has no idea what they are doing (I found out where she was getting her info lol!) I wonder if there is money in the aquarium service industry... :D

Can you spell IDIOT. I would laugh if you fixed her tank and she told your mom she told you what to do (personal experience).